Started By
Message
re: What is the rule for offense goal tending?
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:45 pm to GatorsGators
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:45 pm to GatorsGators
Was just about to concede. I am remembering the debate from a few years after another ending like this. This exact debate has been going on for years on forums, I’ve found.
Apologies!
Still dont know that the ball would be considered “within the cylinder” when it’s clearly over the rim.
Apologies!
Still dont know that the ball would be considered “within the cylinder” when it’s clearly over the rim.
This post was edited on 2/12/19 at 8:47 pm
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:47 pm to the808bass
Yes I believe he could have. We need a still shot.
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:48 pm to cas4t
quote:fair, enough
Was just about to concede. I am remembering the debate from a few years after another ending like this. This exact debate has been going on for years on forums, I’ve found.
Apologies!
Still dont know that the ball would be considered “within the cylinder” when it’s clearly over the rim.
the rule just states that "any part" of the ball has to be within the vertical cylinder to be offensive interference
Not sure why anyone would cling to the wrong opinion that this same call isn't called offensive interference almost every time. No one's attacking LSU (maybe bham bammer is, idk). LSU deserved the win, but that was a call that went their way. shite happens
This post was edited on 2/12/19 at 8:50 pm
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:49 pm to cas4t
quote:
Still dont know that the ball would be considered “within the cylinder” when it’s clearly over the rim.
The rule on interference (I believe) says any part of the ball that’s in the cyclinder. It extends upward. Half the ball was still in the cylinder. It would’ve been defensive goaltending just the same if a UK player touched it.
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:49 pm to GatorsGators
I'm waiting on dumbass ForeverGator to come in here and again tell me that I don't know the rule or whatever
I'm not sure if he can read
I'm not sure if he can read
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:49 pm to kywildcatfanone
Also can’t slap the backboard or pass through the rim to attempt to block a shot. Defensive interference would have actually been a much easier call. Don’t matter though. We gone
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:53 pm to ForeverGator
So throwing out the possible offensive and defensive goaltending on the last play the over the back not called on Travis was horrible and an easy textbook call to make. It wouldn’t have come to the last play without that anyway
This post was edited on 2/13/19 at 8:45 am
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:54 pm to BluegrassBelle
quote:
It would’ve been defensive goaltending just the same if a UK player touched it.
If a Kentucky player had swatted that ball away at the same point, every one of these LSU rules experts would be losing their mind.
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:55 pm to the808bass
These are in order. These are coming off the rim, btw. That ball is not in the cylinder.


This post was edited on 2/12/19 at 8:56 pm
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:57 pm to East Coast Band
If it's in the cylinder with a chance to go in...its offensive pass interference.
This is a dunk follow...or alley oop.
This is a dunk follow...or alley oop.
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:57 pm to cas4t
Yep, clearly not goaltending or interference.
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:58 pm to Scoob
ESPN going in dry on the missed call by the refs.
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:58 pm to the808bass
quote:
every one of these LSU rules experts would be losing their mind.
Look at the stills
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:58 pm to Scoob
That doesn’t help your point. Perhaps geometry isn’t your thing.
Posted on 2/12/19 at 9:01 pm to OleManDixon
quote:
t hit the net and didn’t interfere with the ball. Y’all are making up rules by the minute.
His wrist hit the rim. Another defender slapped the backboard. But I wouldn’t expect you guys to admit that.
Posted on 2/12/19 at 9:03 pm to cas4t
quote:
This is where we disagree, I guess. Because I saw a ball that was not “within the cylinder”.
I’ll be the first to agree that they should clarify what that exactly means. If it’s half way over the rim, is that really “within the cylinder”?
This is where the intent of the rule matters, and it's why you never see a basket like this called basket interference. The ball was clearly halfway out and on the way out. If the offense puts it back, they let it slide all the time. If the defender grabs it, they call it goaltending.
If you've watched basketball for any amount of time you know this is true.
Posted on 2/12/19 at 9:11 pm to the808bass
quote:I don't have a point, I posted an image.
That doesn’t help your point. Perhaps geometry isn’t your thing.
Posted on 2/13/19 at 8:47 am to 1BIGTigerFan
Kentucky player is making serious contact with the rim without a doubt
Popular
Back to top


2









