Started By
Message
re: Refs got that Bama call right
Posted on 11/24/24 at 11:47 am to OU Guy
Posted on 11/24/24 at 11:47 am to OU Guy
quote:
OU Guy
Here's a thought: instead of copying and pasting a lot of bullshite, you could have, you know, checked the rulebook. Then you wouldn't have ended up looking like a fool on the internet.
"Illegal Touching
ARTICLE 11. No originally ineligible player while inbounds may intentionally
touch a legal forward pass until it has touched an opponent or an official (A.R.
5-2-3-I and A.R. 7-3-11-I-II).
Williams was on the end of the line and therefore eligible. The TE was not, but he didn't touch the ball.
PENALTY—Five yards from the previous spot, loss of down [S16 and S9].
And, as far as it being a legal formation, even though there are only two guys to the left of the center...
"A team legally may play with fewer than 11 players, but a foul for an illegal
formation occurs if the following requirements are not met:
1. When the ball is free-kicked, at least four Team A players are on each
side of the kicker (Rule 6-1-2-c-3).
2. At the snap, at least five players wearing jerseys numbered 50 through
79 are on the offensive scrimmage line and no more than four players
are in the backfield (Rules 2-21-2, 2-27-4 and 7-1-4-a) (Exception:
Rule 7-1-4-a-5) (A.R. 7-1-4-IV-VI)."
Everyone here who has been following college football longer than 15 minutes knows that's a legal formation and that it wasn't illegal touching. Not to mention the former referee in the broadcast booth. But hey, what does he know, compared to you?
Word of advice: the next time you see a boneheaded official's call that benefits your team and you want to come on a message board defending it, do yourself a favor and read the fricking rule book first.
edit: so instead of quoting the rule from the book that supports your assertion, instead of Wikipedia or whatever that nonsensical source you used, you're just gonna do a drive-by downvote.

This post was edited on 11/24/24 at 12:05 pm
Posted on 11/24/24 at 11:48 am to OU Guy
quote:
Yes, once he touched the ball its illegal touching.
The flag was thrown once he passed bit once touched it became illegal touching.
Again, you are obviously completely clueless about the rules.
Read the fricking rulebook, ok?
Posted on 11/24/24 at 11:50 am to OU Guy
quote:
first I thought it was blown call
Because it was. Didn't really change the out come of the game.
1. It was most definitely not illegal touching
2. It was a legal formation
In college you don't have to declare
Posted on 11/24/24 at 12:09 pm to OU Guy
The LT is an eligible receiver in that formation. Nothing ILLEGAL there. If TE doesn't release downfield and stays in to block no issue there. If TE runs pattern downfield that's illegal man downfield.
Posted on 11/24/24 at 12:10 pm to OU Guy
OT2 of Auburn/A&M was far worse and nearly soured an amazing game.
Funny thing is sec final glossed over both of those plays (didn’t even make the highlight) from when Auburn was on offense — but made a big stink about that incredibly inconsequential play from Bama/OU.
Funny thing is sec final glossed over both of those plays (didn’t even make the highlight) from when Auburn was on offense — but made a big stink about that incredibly inconsequential play from Bama/OU.
This post was edited on 11/24/24 at 3:03 pm
Posted on 11/24/24 at 12:26 pm to OU Guy
TY for the explanation.
You might want to forward this post to Kirk Herbstreit and Chris Fowler c/o ABC as they were mystified by the call and made little effort to find out why the flag was thrown at all let alone "late" as they said more than once.
You might want to forward this post to Kirk Herbstreit and Chris Fowler c/o ABC as they were mystified by the call and made little effort to find out why the flag was thrown at all let alone "late" as they said more than once.
Posted on 11/24/24 at 12:26 pm to 3down10
quote:
The flag was thrown while the ball was in the air.
How can it be illegal touching before the guy even touches the ball?
Only the players on the ends of the line of scrimmage are eligible to catch a pass. If the ball had been run, handed off, or thrown to the TE it would have been a legal play. I think the refs might have worded the actual flag incorrectly, but it became correct as soon as Williams touched the ball, because he was not on the line of scrimmage, and two receivers inside him were.
Posted on 11/24/24 at 12:30 pm to HunterDawg
quote:
Only the players on the ends of the line of scrimmage are eligible to catch a pass. If the ball had been run, handed off, or thrown to the TE it would have been a legal play. I think the refs might have worded the actual flag incorrectly, but it became correct as soon as Williams touched the ball, because he was not on the line of scrimmage, and two receivers inside him were.
I don't know. That ref on TV often doesn't know his head for his arse, so it could have been a good call. I can't remember seeing a call like it before however, and I don't seem to be alone.
It's not why we lost the game, so it's not a huge deal.
It just seems like at some point in the past 50 years someone would have said "Well, this is a run because the only thing they can do out of this formation is run the ball".

This post was edited on 11/24/24 at 12:32 pm
Posted on 11/24/24 at 1:18 pm to 3down10
quote:
f it's an illegal formation, the flag is thrown as the ball is snapped. Not long after the play starts. If it's illegal touching, the flag is thrown after the receiver touches the ball, not before. The penalty was also called personally on #2, Ryan Williams.
First, it wasn’t illegal formation. OP is wrong. They had seven on the LOS. Williams wasn’t covered so he is eligible. In that formation the TE is not eligible. Not sure about the tackle on the left. He might be eligible if he reported himself eligible but in either case if he stays and blocks it isn’t a penalty. (Edit: Others have pointed out that declaring yourself eligible is not required in college. Not material as the tackle stayed in and blocked.)
All that said, if Williams had been covered the flag was thrown at the right time. Can’t throw that flag before the ball is thrown. As soon as the ball is thrown (which is roughly when the flag was thrown) it is ineligible man downfield so the flag could be thrown immediately. Once Williams was the first to touch, it becomes illegal touching.
So bad call because Williams wasn’t covered but there is nothing at all fishy about when the flag was thrown.
I want to be clear because some might misinterpret what I said. What I mentioned about ineligible downfield and illegal touching would only apply if the WR was covered which it appears the official thought was the case. It was a bad call but if you accept that initial mistake there isn’t a question about the timing of that flag being thrown.
This post was edited on 11/24/24 at 1:31 pm
Posted on 11/24/24 at 1:24 pm to JacieNY
quote:
TY for the explanation.
TY? For what? His "explanation" was bullshite and completely wrong on two critical points.
I realize that you guys are relatively new around here, but SEC fans are more astute than what you're used to. You're going to try and absolve an official who made an utterly retarded call, you'd better check the rulebook first.
Posted on 11/24/24 at 1:28 pm to OU Guy
quote:
Stay classy Bama
Saw that live last night…I thought for sure he kneed him in the back because they never showed the replay on how he got hurt. Also thought he might have tomahawked him too before the knee to the back
Posted on 11/24/24 at 1:30 pm to ChapelHillSooner
quote:
First, it wasn’t illegal formation. OP is wrong. They had seven on the LOS. Williams wasn’t covered so he is eligible. In that formation the TE is not eligible. Not sure about the tackle on the left. He might be eligible if he reported himself eligible but in either case if he stays and blocks it isn’t a penalty. (Edit: Others have pointed out that declaring yourself eligible is not required in college. Not material as the tackle stayed in and blocked.)
This makes more sense, because I've never in my life heard of a formation you can only run out of. People can be eligible and ineligible, but I've never heard of a "run only" formation.
quote:
All that said, if Williams had been covered the flag was thrown at the right time. Can’t throw that flag before the ball is thrown. As soon as the ball is thrown (which is roughly when the flag was thrown) it is ineligible man downfield so the flag could be thrown immediately. Once Williams was the first to touch, it becomes illegal touching.
So bad call because Williams wasn’t covered but there is nothing at all fishy about when the flag was thrown.
I'll need to watch the timing again on this, but this makes more sense.
Posted on 11/24/24 at 1:31 pm to SteelerBravesDawg
quote:
Great post.
It's not.
We need community notes.

Posted on 11/24/24 at 1:32 pm to OU Guy
If it’s an illegal formation ( 5 in the back field, it was not ) the flag is thrown when ball is snapped. The next progression would be ineligible receiver down field ( if covered up. He was not ) which is thrown at snap of ball when he leaves LOS. It is changed to illegal touching if the ineligible receiver touches the ball( which they called . The only ineligible receiver on that play was the tight end who did not go out for pass
ETA- it was not an illegal formation as 7 were on LOS
ETA2- good game yall kicked our arse
ETA- it was not an illegal formation as 7 were on LOS
ETA2- good game yall kicked our arse

This post was edited on 11/24/24 at 1:44 pm
Posted on 11/24/24 at 1:32 pm to OU Guy
quote:
Stay classy Bama
they do this every time they start losing.. Same thing at Vandy. In the OU game the Bama players were getting pissed off they couldn't get clean shots because we was either going out of bounds and or falling down before they could hit us. Maybe they should of played harder during the actual game lol
Posted on 11/24/24 at 1:33 pm to BamaGradinTn
quote:
His "explanation" was bullshite and completely wrong on two critical points.

quote:
an utterly retarded call,
The right call.
quote:
better check the rulebook first.
The irony in this statement.



Posted on 11/24/24 at 1:35 pm to 3down10
Basically your TE was covered up by the slot receiver, and when he went out for a pass it became an illegal formation and then when he caught the pass it became illegal touching.
Do you not understand what being "covered up" entails?
Do you not understand what being "covered up" entails?
Posted on 11/24/24 at 1:38 pm to SteelerBravesDawg
quote:
Basically your TE was covered up by the slot receiver, and when he went out for a pass it became an illegal formation and then when he caught the pass it became illegal touching.
Do you not understand what being "covered up" entails?
Ok

This post was edited on 11/24/24 at 1:40 pm
Posted on 11/24/24 at 1:46 pm to OU Guy
I've looked at the still photo and I've looked at the high film. There was no foul on the play.
Illegal formation? No. As others have pointed out, Bama correctly had 7 on the line, and the far tackle does not have to report as eligible.
Illegal Man Downfield? No. Yes, in this formation the tight end is covered. However, he stays in to block leaving only three going out for passes. Williams is not covered, so he is an eligible receiver.
Illegal Touching? No. Illegal touching can come from two actions: (1) the pass catcher being an ineligible receiver and (2) the pass catcher going out of bounds on his own and being the first person to touch the ball. Williams was an eligible receiver and he never went out of bounds.
Offensive pass interference? Possible, but not enforced properly. It's possible that the near sideline ref saw offensive pass interference on the Bama receiver closest to him. If so, that is an incredibly weak call that I don't think happened. But, if that was the actual call, the refs enforced it improperly. OPI does not carry a loss of down, only a 10 yard penalty. So, if that was the call, Bama would still have the ball 4th & 12 and likely to punt.
I will admit I have little sympathy for Bama. But, the call was bad and that hurts the entire conference.
GEAUX TIGERS!!!
Illegal formation? No. As others have pointed out, Bama correctly had 7 on the line, and the far tackle does not have to report as eligible.
Illegal Man Downfield? No. Yes, in this formation the tight end is covered. However, he stays in to block leaving only three going out for passes. Williams is not covered, so he is an eligible receiver.
Illegal Touching? No. Illegal touching can come from two actions: (1) the pass catcher being an ineligible receiver and (2) the pass catcher going out of bounds on his own and being the first person to touch the ball. Williams was an eligible receiver and he never went out of bounds.
Offensive pass interference? Possible, but not enforced properly. It's possible that the near sideline ref saw offensive pass interference on the Bama receiver closest to him. If so, that is an incredibly weak call that I don't think happened. But, if that was the actual call, the refs enforced it improperly. OPI does not carry a loss of down, only a 10 yard penalty. So, if that was the call, Bama would still have the ball 4th & 12 and likely to punt.
I will admit I have little sympathy for Bama. But, the call was bad and that hurts the entire conference.
GEAUX TIGERS!!!
This post was edited on 11/24/24 at 5:12 pm
Popular
Back to top
