Posted by
Message
lsu711
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2003
10258 posts

Official College Baseball Stadium Review
Top 20 On-Campus Facilities:

1a. Arkansas – Baum Stadium at George Cole Field
Seats: 9,200
Suites: 34
Max Capacity: 10,500
2011 Attendance: 7,932 (3)




1b. LSU – Alex Box Stadium
Seats: 10,200
Suites: 27
Max Capacity: 12,500
2011 Attendance: 10,556 (1)




3. Texas – UFCU Disch-Falk Field
Seats: 5,000
Suites: 17
Max Capacity: 6,756
2011 Attendance: 6,500 (5)



4. South Carolina – Carolina Stadium
Seats: 6,400
Suites: 5 (plus club)
Max Capacity: 9,000
2011 Attendance: 7,431 (4)



5. Ole Miss – O/U Stadium at Swayze Field
Seats: 6,100
Suites: 0 (club seating)
Max Capacity: 10,323
2011 Attendance: 8,156 (2)



6. Texas A&M – Olsen Field at Blue Bell Park renovation complete in 2012
Seats: 5,400
Suites: ?
Max Capacity: 7,000
2011 Attendance: 3,994 (11)



7. Mississippi State – Dudy Noble Field/Polk-DeMent Stadium
Seats: 7,200
Suites: 18
Max Capacity: 15,000
2011 Attendance: 6,103 (6)



8. Oregon – PK Park
Seats: 2,700
Suites: 8
Max Capacity: 4,000
2011 Attendance: 1,814 (33)



9. North Carolina – Boshamer Stadium
Seats: 4,100
Suites: 7
Max Capacity: 5,000
2011 Attendance: 1,577 (37)



10. Florida State – Mike Martin Field at Dick Howser Stadium
Seats: 6,750
Suites: ?
Max Capacity: 6,789
2011 Attendance: 4,654 (7)



11. Rice – Reckling Park
Seats: 3,700
Suites: 9
Max Capacity: 5,368
2011 Attendance: 3,542 (14)




12. Auburn – Hitchcock Field at Plainsman Park
Seats: 4,096
Suites: 0
Max Capacity: 4,096
2011 Attendance: 2,967 (21)



13. Texas Tech – Dan Law Field at Rip Griffin Park renovation complete in 2012
Seats: 5,050
Suites: ~16
Max Capacity: 5.050
2011 Attendance: 2,772 (24)



14. Baylor – Baylor Ballpark
Seats: 5,000
Suites: 0
Max Capacity: 5,602
2011 Attendance: 2,689 (26)



15. Clemson – Doug Kingsmore Stadium
Seats: 4,500
Suites: 0
Max Capacity: 6,480
2011 Attendance: 4,393 (9)



16. Wichita State – Eck Stadium
Seats: 7,851
Suites: 14
Max Capacity: 8,153
2011 Attendance: 3,460 (16)


17. Tulane – Greer Field at Turchin Stadium
Seats: 5,000
Suites: 4
Max Capacity: 5,093
2011 Attendance: 2,759 (25)


18. Oregon State – Goss Stadium at Coleman Field
Seats: 3,248
Suites: 0 (club seating)
Max Capacity: 3,248
2011 Attendance: 2,285 (29)


19. TCU – Lupton Baseball Stadium
Seats:
Suites: 3
Max Capacity: 4,500
2011 Attendance: 4,418 (10)


20. Vanderbilt – Hawkins Field
Seats: 3,700
Suites: 0
Max Capacity: 3,700
2011 Attendance: 2,681 (27)


Next 10: Florida, Louisville, Stanford, Miami, Georgia, Alabama, Virginia, Arizona State, East Carolina, Houston



Best Of:
Best City View: UIC – Les Miller Field


Best Beach View: Pepperdine – Eddy D. Field Stadium


Best Mountain View: BYU – Miller Field





Top Shared Facilities:
1. Creighton – TD Ameritrade Park


2. New Mexico – Isotopes Park


3. Duke – Durham Bulls Athletic Park


4. Utah – Spring Mobile Park


5. Penn State – Lubrano Park
This post was edited on 2/17 at 12:22 pm


theGarnetWay
South Carolina Fan
Washington, D.C.
Member since Mar 2010
22327 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
That first pic of you have our stadium is not Carolina Stadium.


Slippery Slope
Mississippi St. Fan
Because Memphis
Member since Nov 2010
20334 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
Damn. Did you do all this yourself?

Nice work.


bigpapamac
South Alabama Fan
Mobile, AL
Member since Oct 2007
21548 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
Baum > New Box in my humble opinion. I was a little disappointed in the Box, I feel like LSU took some shortcuts building it. I can only dream Alabama will finally decide to build a new stadium that is anywhere near as nice as either though.

ETA: impressive post though
This post was edited on 2/16 at 12:06 pm


Slippery Slope
Mississippi St. Fan
Because Memphis
Member since Nov 2010
20334 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
quote:

Top 25 on-campus college baseball crowds of all-time

1 14,991 Florida at Mississippi State, Starkville April 22, 1989
2 14,556 LSU at Mississippi State, Starkville April 16, 1988
3 13,761 Arkansas at Mississippi State, Starkville April 25, 1992
4 13,715 Clemson at Mississippi State, Starkville June 9, 2007
5 13,617 Georgia at Mississippi State, Starkville April 8, 2006
6 13,123 Ole Miss at Mississippi State, Starkville April 15, 2000
7 12,708 Auburn at Mississippi State, Starkville April 24, 1993
8 12,620 Clemson at Mississippi State, Starkville June 8, 2007
9 12,360 Georgia at Mississippi State, Starkville April 6, 2002
10 12,313 Alabama at LSU, Baton Rouge April 17, 2010
11 12,076 Florida at LSU, Baton Rouge March 18, 2011
12 11,763 Auburn at Mississippi State, Starkville April 12, 2003
13 11,588 Centenary at LSU, Baton Rouge February 19, 2010
14 11,496 Florida State at Mississippi State, Starkville May 27, 1990
15 11,332 Alabama at
16 11,225 Arkansas at LSU, Baton Rouge March 19, 2010
17 11,220 Pepperdine at LSU, Baton Rouge March 6, 2010
18 11,201 Florida at Mississippi State, Starkville April 9, 2011
19 11,174 Florida at Mississippi State, Starkville April 13, 1991
20 11,157 Kansas at LSU, Baton Rouge March 12, 2010
21 11,127 South Alabama at Mississippi State, Starkville May 26, 2000
22 11,126 Centenary at LSU, Baton Rouge February 20, 2010
23 11,089 Tennessee at Mississippi State, Starkville April 17, 2010
24 11,074 Kansas at LSU, Baton Rouge March 14, 2010
25 11,014 Arizona State at Arkansas, Fayetteville April 8, 2009


Can I be the first one to post this this year?


USMC DAWG
Georgia Fan
Atlanta
Member since Dec 2008
2806 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
Looking at these makes me realize what a shithole UGA has in Foley Field...


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
bbap
Pacific Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Feb 2006
93709 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
thats well done. i dont even care to argue the rankings because that conversation is so old. but texas should be dropped for putting a logo in their outfield!


bigpapamac
South Alabama Fan
Mobile, AL
Member since Oct 2007
21548 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
For real, it's not softball Clemson had a logo in center when we played there in the Supers two years ago too.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
TheCheshireHog
Arkansas Fan
Cashew Chicken Country
Member since Oct 2010
36755 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
Very solid post.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Marines4Auburn
Auburn Fan
Auburn Alum in South Florida
Member since Sep 2009
14926 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
Very impressive, I did not realize that Auburns was that highly regarded in comparison to the rest of the stadiums in the country.


Ball Gravy
Texas A&M Fan
Houston, TX
Member since Aug 2008
2985 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
Our total capacity will be 10,300 with SRO and Aggie Alley.

New Olsen will have 6 suites to start out.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
bigpapamac
South Alabama Fan
Mobile, AL
Member since Oct 2007
21548 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
quote:

Very impressive, I did not realize that Auburns was that highly regarded in comparison to the rest of the stadiums in the country.


Auburn's is nice, just small.


bbap
Pacific Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Feb 2006
93709 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
I knew Arkansas had the most suites and not surprised LSU is second. Surprised at how badly they're lapping the field though.


lsu711
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2003
10258 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
quote:

texas should be dropped for putting a logo in their outfield!


I thought about dropping Texas (mostly because of the synthetic turf field), but that renovation was too well done to be any lower. I never knew there was a character limit for posts on here, so I couldn't post all of the pictures. The "guts" of New Alex Box and Disch-Falk are second to none.

Small sample....













RebelNutt48
Ole Miss Fan
Valdosta, GA
Member since Apr 2010
8188 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
Ole Miss' capacity is 10,323. Not 8500.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
beaver
Atlanta Falcons Fan
The 755 Club
Member since Sep 2009
46665 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
I want an outfield student section like Ole Miss'

I went to an AU-OM game, you can bring in coolers and it was a lot of fun


wmr
Arkansas Fan
North of Dickson, South of Herman's
Member since Mar 2009
32016 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
I always thought Plainsmen Park was nice, although small. I've never been, but its a sharp-looking park on TV.


bbap
Pacific Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Feb 2006
93709 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
That is nice of Texas's. I've seen ours of course on tours. I wish they would get to work on the Hall of Fame though. That will be a great addition to the box.


bbap
Pacific Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Feb 2006
93709 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
It was probably top 5 as of 10 years ago. It's slowly being passed up.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
ShaneTheLegLechler
Houston Astros Fan
Member since Dec 2011
51672 posts

re: Official College Baseball Stadium Review
Nice post. I've always loved Reckling, it's view of the Med Center is really cool. The view of downtown Chicago from UIC's field is awesome, never seen that before.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 9next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow SECRant for SEC Football News
Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get the latest updates on SEC Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitter