Started By
Message
re: “YOUUU CAN’T DO THAT” *Clap clap, clap clap clap*
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:09 pm to Tuscaloosa
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:09 pm to Tuscaloosa
quote:
No, I’m saying he botched the part where he was supposed to throw a flag and call a penalty that would have subsequently been declined.
Again, more subjectivity. We don’t know 100% for sure it would’ve been declined so it should have been flagged and the opportunity presented.
You’re essentially arguing that it’d be ok for a ref to call PI but not follow through on the review and potential ejection based on how the rule is written because the official just didn’t feel like it.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:11 pm to BluegrassBelle
No, the only thing I’m arguing is that the spot was correct, by rule. You’ve interjected the arguments over subjectivity.
The only question that needs to be answered is whether or not the UT player pulled his teammate. If the answer is yes, then the ball was properly spotted.
The only question that needs to be answered is whether or not the UT player pulled his teammate. If the answer is yes, then the ball was properly spotted.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:14 pm to Tuscaloosa
quote:
which it clearly was by rule, once his team mate started pulling on him.
The rule says you cannot assist a teammate by pulling. It does not say forward progress is per se stopped once a teammate starts pulling. Ignoring the sheer ridiculousness of saying you can shove your teammate forward but can’t pull him, I still see no basis on that play for saying forward progress was stopped. The ref, however, could have thrown a penalty by that silly rule.
This post was edited on 12/30/21 at 9:15 pm
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:15 pm to LSUgrad88
Ref didn't throw the flag so no foul occurred. Let's get rid of that argument and look at his actual physical movement.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:27 pm to BFANLC
quote:
and look at his actual physical movement.
Can’t do that without taking into account how his physical movement is being assisted by a teammate.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:28 pm to futbolisbetter
quote:
Should have taken the points...tenner sucks...braindead coaches
Exactly. Tennessee fans are overlooking that their coaches blew the game.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:31 pm to Tuscaloosa
I did and it doesn't matter because that isn't a foul in the refs eyes. So that means the player was moving on his own.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:34 pm to futbolisbetter
quote:
Should have taken the points...tenner sucks...braindead coaches
Meaningless bowl game go for the win don’t be a pussy.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:37 pm to Tuscaloosa
quote:
YOUUU CAN’T DO THAT” *Clap clap, clap clap clap*
Didn’t watch the game, was that penalty called on that play?
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:39 pm to Tuscaloosa
quote:
Player would have been correctly marked down by forward progress and the defense would have declined the penalty.
Nope - it would’ve been called a TD, penalty would’ve been assessed and TN would be kicking the FG on 4th down.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:40 pm to bstew3006
In fairness, the penalty shouldn’t have been called because the ref ruled forward progress had been stopped (erroneously in my view).
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:43 pm to Tuscaloosa
quote:
Can’t do that without taking into account how his physical movement is being assisted by a teammate
If he was “assisting” his physical movement, then forward progress could not have yet been stopped.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:44 pm to AllDayEveryDay
quote:
By your logic, linemen pushing a QB or RB across the line is illegal as well.
The Aggiest response of all Aggie responses. The OP CLEARLY POSTED THE RULE. Can't assume you're illiterate because you typed a response. At least I assume it was you doing the typing.
Only conclusion you're just a dumbass Aggie.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:44 pm to KellerChrystFan
quote:
Nope - it would’ve been called a TD, penalty would’ve been assessed and TN would be kicking the FG on 4th down.
No, ball is dead when forward progress is in question, per section 1, article 3, part a of the rulebook.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:46 pm to Tuscaloosa
False. Forward progress wasn’t in question.
This post was edited on 12/30/21 at 9:47 pm
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:47 pm to LSUgrad88
quote:
The rule says you cannot assist a teammate by pulling. It does not say forward progress is per se stopped once a teammate starts pulling.
OP is definitely confused by this. If this play happened at midfield, the pulling penalty was called, forward progress wasn’t blown dead, then forward progress hasn’t ended lol
The UT player could have ran another 10 yards in this scenario, fumbled, and turned the ball over. Because his forward progress continued despite the penalty
This post was edited on 12/30/21 at 9:48 pm
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:48 pm to KellerChrystFan
quote:
Forward progress wasn’t in question.
It clearly was, as evidenced by the official marking the spot and it being confirmed by replay.

Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:49 pm to Tuscaloosa
I’ve read the rule you posted and nowhere does it say “ball is dead when forward progress is in question”. Or did you only post part of the rule?
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:49 pm to Tuscaloosa
Not under your stipulation of the penalty my guy. You’re talking out of your arse at this point about hypotheticals. Take the L.
Popular
Back to top



1





