Started By
Message
re: Overturned Touchdown Receptions
Posted on 9/2/25 at 4:25 am to ukraine_rebel
Posted on 9/2/25 at 4:25 am to ukraine_rebel
Seems the play is over with a TD once the goal line is crossed and the player has possession. It is however different for running vs catching a pass.
Possession definition after a catch:
Under NCAA football rules, possession after a catch requires a player to secure firm control of the live ball in flight, touch the ground inbounds, and maintain control of the ball long enough to demonstrate an action common to the game (like throwing, advancing, or evading a tackle). If the player goes to the ground, they must maintain this control throughout the process of contacting the ground to be considered a legal catch.
That should really be interpreted as “if they go to the ground as part of the process of making the catch” because once they take the second step while in control of the ball they are running.
Possession definition after a catch:
Under NCAA football rules, possession after a catch requires a player to secure firm control of the live ball in flight, touch the ground inbounds, and maintain control of the ball long enough to demonstrate an action common to the game (like throwing, advancing, or evading a tackle). If the player goes to the ground, they must maintain this control throughout the process of contacting the ground to be considered a legal catch.
That should really be interpreted as “if they go to the ground as part of the process of making the catch” because once they take the second step while in control of the ball they are running.
This post was edited on 9/2/25 at 4:28 am
Posted on 9/2/25 at 4:48 am to ukraine_rebel
quote:
I agree, he caught it in his hands, but did not establish control before the defender knocked it loose. This is incomplete every time. If it hadn’t been called a catch initially, no one would’ve ever blinked on it.
While I don't disagree with you... it is somewhat confusing about how the ground "can't cause a fumble"... but the ground CAN cause an incompletion.
Also...We are told that a play is over when the guy with the ball has a body part (besides a foot or hand) touches the ground and it is not a fumble if he has "firm control of the ball"... yet this isn't the case on a pass. He can have firm control of the ball when his knee goes down.. but if the ball comes out after that... it still isn't a catch.
Finally... we are told that a play is over when the player with the ball has any body part touch the sidelines or out of bounds. Specifically... Harbor had firm control of the ball when he actually went out of bounds . But the play wasn't considered to be "over" because the defender was pawing at the ball out of bounds and Harbor slightly lost control when he hit the ground. All that happened when Harbor was already out of bounds.
.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 4:49 am to ClintonGamecock
If these guys had so much control over the footballs, why couldn’t they just secure them?
The ground movement is just the indication that they never had control to begin with.
The ground movement is just the indication that they never had control to begin with.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 5:07 am to Lonnie Utah
quote:
My problem is with both of these the defender knocked the ball out as they we out of bounds.
Not on LSU’s.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 5:23 am to lsudave1
You know it's football season when LSU fans start complaining about officiating.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:17 am to Simple Solution
quote:
You know it's football season when LSU fans start complaining about officiating.
Everyone fanbase said it. Not just LSU. But let's applaud ineptitude in the SEC office
Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:27 am to Lonnie Utah
That ball definitely hit the ground and he didn’t take multiple step with ball in control. He immediately went to one hand and was falling back the whole time.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:30 am to Gunga Din
He didn’t have control out of bounds only control for a split second before switching to one hand
Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:31 am to ClintonGamecock
I missed the LSU one but yeah SC definitely got hosed. Terrible rule.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:32 am to Rzrbackguy
He was falling backwards the whole way. All he had to do was pull it down with both hands.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:34 am to lsudave1
quote:
Didn’t see the SC one, but the stupidest thing about the call against us was the fact that once you cross the plain with firm possession the pay is over it’s a TD.
Correct. Our first TD was Durham’s and he crosses the goal line on a run play then loses possession still a TD.
Yet, somehow on a run play the play stands?
This is the confusion for me.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:37 am to ClintonGamecock
Difference I see:
- LSU player caught the ball & had possession before crossing the goal line. (Moment the ball touches the line, by rules it is a TD)
- SC player caught the ball inside the end o e, therefore must maintain possession throughout the full play.
- LSU player caught the ball & had possession before crossing the goal line. (Moment the ball touches the line, by rules it is a TD)
- SC player caught the ball inside the end o e, therefore must maintain possession throughout the full play.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:38 am to Hurricane2020
I didn’t see conclusive evidence in either one to overturn them
Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:40 am to Errerrerrwere
Because you couldn’t say he never had control. They’re saying Brown was falling forward with the ball while in the midst of completing the catch. I believe browns was wrong but Harbors was the right call. But Brown needs to tuck that ball better when diving directly after the catch
Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:41 am to ClintonGamecock
The LSU one is more insane because Brown caught it at the one, made a move and hit the pylon the play is over once he did that. If he had been a yard in the endzone then it’s easy to see why that wasn’t a catch
Posted on 9/2/25 at 6:52 am to Simple Solution
quote:
You know it's football season when LSU fans start complaining about officiating.
Y'all have a lot more things to worry about than officiating. LOL
Posted on 9/2/25 at 8:50 am to ClintonGamecock
Both were definitely touch downs.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:00 am to BigNastyTiger417
That makes zero sense. Harbor has possession when he steps out of bounds. Every other type of play is dead at that point. The fact that the ball got dislodged when he was trying to tuck it up after being out of bounds should have no bearing on the call. It’s a stupid rule.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:05 am to ClintonGamecock
The whole, is it a catch or not a catch is my second least favorite review thing they do now-a-days. The call in the LSU game being a prime example why. There were many similar plays to that one this past weekend such as the Texas TD where they called it a catch.
Targeting being number one bc they use it at times to help certain teams win games.
Examples:
Miami over Cal last season.
Texas over Arizona State.
And there are many more.
Targeting being number one bc they use it at times to help certain teams win games.
Examples:
Miami over Cal last season.
Texas over Arizona State.
And there are many more.
Posted on 9/2/25 at 9:53 am to ClintonGamecock
The LSU and SC receptions were different - the LSU receiver established possession of the ball and then cross the goal line - at that point it is a TD and the play is over - no different than a running back who crosses the goal line and then fumbles - the SC receiver has to maintain possession to the ground
Back to top


1






