Started By
Message

re: i'm surprised SC doesn't think the penalty on the nussmeier hit wasn't a penalty

Posted on 9/15/24 at 12:22 pm to
Posted by DawginSC
Member since Aug 2022
7571 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 12:22 pm to
quote:

Launching is related to targeting. The penalty was a blindside hit, which it was.


Not by the rulebook.

A blindside hit requires "forcible contact". That is a judgement call in general, but there is one rule on the books about what constitutes "forcible contact"... that being that if a block is initiated with the hands first, it is not forcible contact.

Nuss was literally shoved with the hands of the defender. He didn't cut block him or lay into him with a shoulder... he pushed him.

And a push cannot be a blindside hit. A push CAN be a block in the back... but he wasn't blocked in the back. He was pushed in the front shoulder... which unless there's some other penalty aside from a blindside hit is NOT illegal.

It was a bad call.
Posted by John Casey
New Orleans
Member since Nov 2016
3657 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 12:28 pm to
quote:

Reverse the home field and the team… does LSU get called for that? Absolutely not.


Vadal Alexander would beg to differ from the 2014 game vs Bama in Tiger Stadium.
Posted by dstone12
Texan
Member since Jan 2007
38292 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 12:28 pm to
Dude.

I’m an LSU fan but that was not a blindside hit.

Hit him on the front of the shoulder.
Posted by Quicksilver
Poker Room
Member since Jan 2013
12200 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 12:33 pm to
I misremembered the call and thought they called a blindside hit. My b.

Unnecessary roughness actually does make more sense. No need to give the refs the ammo to make a judgement call. Kennard knew he was in trouble as soon as he did it cause he threw his hands in the air like he hadn't done anything wrong. Again, I think the refs absolutely gave the game to LSU, just didn't think this was the best example.
Posted by DawginSC
Member since Aug 2022
7571 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 12:36 pm to
quote:


Dude.

I’m an LSU fan but that was not a blindside hit.

Hit him on the front of the shoulder.


A blindside hit doesn't need to be in the back.

The rule is in place to keep a blocker from "blowing up" a tackler who doesn't see them. To that effect it requires "forcible contact". While that is a nebulous term, there is one way in the rule book to make sure a block is not "forcible contact"... that being to initiate contact with the hands.

The block on nuss wasn't a blindside hit because the blocker shoved him with his hands. A shove CANNOT be called as a blindside hit.

But if he had layed into Nuss with his shoulder or cut blocked him, it could have been legitimately called a blindside hit even though it was his front shoulder.

But a "hand shove" is by NCAA rule NEVER a blindside hit.
Posted by civiltiger07
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2011
14977 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 12:38 pm to
Sorry your life is that terrible
Posted by PeleofAnalytics
Member since Jun 2021
4813 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 12:45 pm to
quote:

It's crazy how many people here know the rules better than almost the entire officiating crew and even the player.

Except when Alabama plays LSU right? Then the entire LSU fan base becomes 20 year veteran refs.
Posted by DawginSC
Member since Aug 2022
7571 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 12:48 pm to
quote:

I misremembered the call and thought they called a blindside hit. My b.

Unnecessary roughness actually does make more sense. No need to give the refs the ammo to make a judgement call. Kennard knew he was in trouble as soon as he did it cause he threw his hands in the air like he hadn't done anything wrong. Again, I think the refs absolutely gave the game to LSU, just didn't think this was the best example.


UR simply doesn't fit though.

"Unnecessary roughness is a safety-related personal foul in football. It occurs when a player is deemed to have used excessive force to make a tackle, makes an illegal tackle (i.e. helmet-to-helmet contact) or hits a player who is already out of bounds. "

The NCAA rules have already defined contact that begins with the hands (a push) as not being "forcible contact". Nuss was pushed down by the blocker.

If the contact wasn't "forcible", then how can it be rules as being "rough"?

It also wasn't a tackle and wasn't a hit out of bounds. It was a legal block initiated with the hands. Nuss flopped on it and pretended he was injured and drew a flag.

It shouldn't have been. This was a bad call by the refs and will likely be noted as such by the SEC when they review this weekend's bad calls by refs.
This post was edited on 9/15/24 at 12:51 pm
Posted by Flavius C Julianus
Member since Sep 2024
129 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 1:03 pm to
quote:

Unnecessary roughness is a safety-related personal foul in football. It occurs when a player is deemed to have used excessive force to make a tackle, makes an illegal tackle (i.e. helmet-to-helmet contact) or hits a player who is already out of bounds. "


You’re not quoting the rule book here.

quote:

The NCAA rules have already defined contact that begins with the hands (a push) as not being "forcible contact".


Cite that rule.

Posted by SouthernInsanity
Shadows of Death Valley
Member since Nov 2012
24996 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 1:34 pm to
quote:

Bama players don't flop to beg for penalties


You should seek counseling.
Posted by BFANLC
The Beach
Member since Oct 2007
22514 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 1:40 pm to
quote:

nuss wasn't looking


You're allowed to tackle players who aren't looking.
Posted by BFANLC
The Beach
Member since Oct 2007
22514 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 1:42 pm to
quote:

Vadal Alexander would beg to differ from the 2014 game vs Bama in Tiger Stadium.


Tua would beg to differ after getting tackled in the nuts AFTER the whistle had blown.


Yes yes I know I used nuts and blown in the same sentence.
Posted by Flavius C Julianus
Member since Sep 2024
129 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 1:56 pm to
quote:

You're allowed to tackle players who aren't looking.


Not all players. Certain ball carriers yes, but those certain ball carriers aren’t considered defenseless.
Posted by Keltic Tiger
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2006
21447 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 2:02 pm to
As hard as Nuss was "shoved" or whatever, anyone thinking he flopped is biased or didn't watch the whole play, start to finish. He was laying on the ground. head shaking, flat on his back for a bit. The announcers said that a big reason for the call was because it was behind the play & "they're trying to clean that up". But how about blaming the dummy for doing that, Nuss was way behind the play & the "block" was totally unnecessary.
Posted by Lige
Member since Nov 2015
1916 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 2:03 pm to
Yes the PI was BS. Carolina should have won. Bad calls against them and bad plays by them. Neither team is good.
Posted by Lonnie Utah
Utah!
Member since Jul 2012
31885 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 2:13 pm to
quote:

Not all players. Certain ball carriers yes, but those certain ball carriers aren’t considered defenseless.

You're getting caught in exactly the same trap the refs did yesterday. If you look in the rule book, defenseless player only applies to the targeting rule. But the Refs didn't call targeting. Here are the instances where defenseless player applies:

quote:

(Rule 2-27-14) Defenseless player: When in question, a player is defenseless

Examples of defenseless players include but are not limited to:
• A player in the act of or just after throwing a pass This includes an offensive player in a passing posture with focus downfield
• A receiver attempting to catch a forward pass or in position to receive a backward pass, or one who has completed a catch and has not had time to protect themselves or has not clearly become a ball carrier
• A kicker in the act of or just after kicking a ball, or during the kick or the return
• A kick returner attempting to catch or recover a kick, or one who has completed a catch or recovery and has not had time to protect themselves or has not clearly become a ball
• A player on the ground
• A player obviously out of the play
• A player who receives a blind-side block
• A ball carrier already in the grasp of an opponent and whose forward progress has been stopped
• A quarterback any time after a change of possession
• A ball carrier who has obviously given themselves up and is sliding feetfirst


So if those conditions only apply to Targeting, and targeting was not called, could it have been roughing the passer? Let's see:

quote:

Roughing the Passer ARTICLE 9 a No defensive player shall unnecessarily rough a passer, when it is obvious the ball has been thrown

The following actions are illegal, but not limited to:
1 Targeting fouls as noted in Rules 9-1-3 and 9-1-4
2 Forcible contact to the head or neck area that does not meet the requirements of Rule 9-1-4
3 Forcible contact that is avoidable after it is obvious the ball has left the passer’s hand
(Exception: A defensive player who is blocked by a Team A player[s] with a force so that they have no opportunity to avoid contact with the passer However, this does not relieve the defensive player of responsibility for personal fouls as described in elsewhere in this section)
4 Forcibly driving the passer to the ground and landing on the passer with action that punishes the player
5 Any action that is a personal foul as described elsewhere in this section b When an offensive player is in a passing posture with one or both feet on the ground, no defensive player rushing unabated shall hit the player forcibly at the knee area or below The defensive player also may not initiate a roll or lunge and forcibly hit this opponent in the knee area or below
( Exceptions: (1) It is not a foul if the offensive player is a runner not in a passing posture, either inside or outside the tackle box
(2) It is not a foul if the defender grabs or wraps this opponent in an attempt to make a conventional tackle without making forcible contact with the head or shoulder
(3) It is not a foul if the defender is not rushing unabated or is blocked or fouled into this opponent
For paragraphs a and b, the penalty is added to the end of the last run when it ends beyond the neutral zone and there is no change of team possession during the down (A R 9-1-9-II-III)


Reading that, and looking at this, it's not roughing the passer.



So here is the rule for blindside block. Note this is not what was called on the field, so it doesn't really apply.

quote:

Blind-Side Block ARTICLE 18 No player shall deliver a blind-side block by attacking an opponent with forcible contact
(Exceptions: (1) the runner;
(2) a receiver in the act of attempting to make a catch )
(Note: In addition, if this action meets all the elements of targeting, it is a blind-slide block with targeting (Rule 9-1-3 and 9-1-4).


This takes us to "Contact to an Opponent Out of the Play" Which reads:

quote:

Contact Against an Opponent Out of the Play
ARTICLE 12
a No player shall tackle or run into a receiver when a forward pass to that receiver is obviously not catchable This is a personal foul and not pass interference
b No player shall run into or throw themselves against an opponent obviously out of the play either before or after the ball is dead


So of all of the Personal Foul's that could apply the ONLY thing that's even close is Article 12.b. However, I'd counter that when Pussmire makes a move towards the ball carrier, he no longer out of the play.

This post was edited on 9/15/24 at 2:16 pm
Posted by BFANLC
The Beach
Member since Oct 2007
22514 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 2:14 pm to
Lol yes you can...doesn't matter if they are looking or not. That isn't any part of the rule. It's how you hit them that matters. The only possible penalty for hitting someone not looking is a blindside block.
Posted by Flavius C Julianus
Member since Sep 2024
129 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 2:21 pm to
quote:

If you look in the rule book, defenseless player only applies to the targeting rule.


No it doesn’t. It also applies to a blind-side block (you even quote it). It also applies to illegal contact against a QB.

quote:

However, I'd counter that when Pussmire makes a move towards the ball carrier, he no longer out of the play.


Yeah well “making a move towards the ball carrier” isn’t the standard that’s used.

Posted by Flavius C Julianus
Member since Sep 2024
129 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 2:22 pm to
quote:

Lol yes you can...doesn't matter if they are looking or not. That isn't any part of the rule. It's how you hit them that matters. The only possible penalty for hitting someone not looking is a blindside block.


You sure about that? I’m looking at the rule book now. Are you?
Posted by BFANLC
The Beach
Member since Oct 2007
22514 posts
Posted on 9/15/24 at 2:25 pm to
And yet you didn't post the rule that says you can't tackle someone not looking?
first pageprev pagePage 6 of 8Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow SECRant for SEC Football News
Follow us on X and Facebook to get the latest updates on SEC Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitter