Started By
Message

Inbounds rule question. If JJ touched the ball while
Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:17 pm
Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:17 pm
out of bounds does that mean the play is dead? I really have never heard this.
Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:18 pm to Schwaaz
I've seen the rule thrown around in regards to this, but I'm not sure how it applies.
Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:19 pm to CapstoneGrad06
Its the best and only explanation anybody could come up with to explain what happened.... 

Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:20 pm to CapstoneGrad06
I don't think he touched the ball
Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:20 pm to ColeLSU
Julio did not touch the ball before PP
Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:22 pm to Schwaaz
quote:
Inbounds rule question. If JJ touched the ball while
out of bounds does that mean the play is dead? I really have never heard this.
doesnt matter because he didnt touch the ball before PP did

Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:22 pm to ApexTiger
IF that's the reason they didn't overturn the call, then it should have been explained on the field.
Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:25 pm to Schwaaz
If Jones touched it first, maybe but i'm not sure. But he didn't touch it first, if he ever touched it at all.
Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:27 pm to Schwaaz
most fans mix up football and baseball rules. never read the rules for either sport.
Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:27 pm to Schwaaz
GUYS...
1. Julio didn't touch the ball. It was a clean catch by Peterson.
2. Even IF Julio DID touch it, it's illegal touching and a 5-yard penalty on Alabama because he didn't re-establish himself on the playing field before touching the ball. That is a penalty. Drop that whole argument.
1. Julio didn't touch the ball. It was a clean catch by Peterson.
2. Even IF Julio DID touch it, it's illegal touching and a 5-yard penalty on Alabama because he didn't re-establish himself on the playing field before touching the ball. That is a penalty. Drop that whole argument.
Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:29 pm to JPLSU1981
quote:
1. Julio didn't touch the ball. It was a clean catch by Peterson.
2. Even IF Julio DID touch it, it's illegal touching and a 5-yard penalty on Alabama because he didn't re-establish himself on the playing field before touching the ball. That is a penalty. Drop that whole argument.
this
Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:32 pm to Schwaaz
quote:I believe the ruling would be sideline interference drawing a flag.
out of bounds does that mean the play is dead? I really have never heard this.
Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:34 pm to JPLSU1981
quote:
2. Even IF Julio DID touch it, it's illegal touching and a 5-yard penalty on Alabama because he didn't re-establish himself on the playing field before touching the ball. That is a penalty. Drop that whole argument.
It wasn't an argument but a question. Like I said earlier, I have never heard of it being a dead ball if touched by a player out of bounds.
Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:35 pm to Schwaaz
quote:
It wasn't an argument but a question.
If it has nothing to do with the interception, then why even bring it up?

Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:40 pm to mprtiger
quote:
If it has nothing to do with the interception, then why even bring it up?
Some are saying that JJ touched the ball as it was being caught by PP and therefore there was no interception.
I asked if a player who is out of bounds is touching a ball then does it create a dead ball and no play. If so there would be no interception and the entire controversy would be moot.
Get it?
Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:51 pm to Schwaaz
quote:Watch the video for yourself and quit listening to those dumbasses, maybe you would know he didnt touch the ball
Some are saying that JJ touched the ball as it was being caught by PP and therefore there was no interception.
quote:Again, quit listening to other people and watch for yourself, maybe you wouldnt look like an idiot for even bringing it up.
I asked if a player who is out of bounds is touching a ball then does it create a dead ball and no play. If so there would be no interception and the entire controversy would be moot.
Posted on 11/9/09 at 4:52 pm to Schwaaz
quote:
I asked if a player who is out of bounds is touching a ball then does it create a dead ball and no play. If so there would be no interception and the entire controversy would be moot.
The answer is no. It would have been illegal touching by Jones, and the interception would have stood.
Back to top
