Started By
Message
Final INT vs SC
Posted on 10/14/24 at 7:55 am
Posted on 10/14/24 at 7:55 am
Had some friends talking abut it, and I haven't seen it discussed here.
I went back and watched the INT to deal the game, that was almost a disaster! Malachi Moore saves the game from going into OT by telling Jackson to take it out of the end zone. The original INT happened on about the 3-4 yard line, his momentum took him back into the endzone, had he kneeled it, wouldn't it have been a safety?
I went back and watched the INT to deal the game, that was almost a disaster! Malachi Moore saves the game from going into OT by telling Jackson to take it out of the end zone. The original INT happened on about the 3-4 yard line, his momentum took him back into the endzone, had he kneeled it, wouldn't it have been a safety?
Posted on 10/14/24 at 7:56 am to tideguy
Yes. It was a heads up play by Malachi to get him out of the end zone.
Posted on 10/14/24 at 7:57 am to tideguy
Refs are generally pretty lenient with the "momentum taking you into the endzone" rule, but it certainly would have been nerve-wracking. Malachi definitely made a heads up play alerting him.
Posted on 10/14/24 at 8:06 am to tideguy
I would not want to leave that call in the officials’ hands - it was close. Stomach dropped when I saw him start to kneel.
Posted on 10/14/24 at 8:06 am to tideguy
It was the safe move to bring it out, but I highly doubt it would have been ruled a safety since his momentum took him in.
Still smart to just avoid it and run out the clock. Heads up play by Malachi for sure.
Still smart to just avoid it and run out the clock. Heads up play by Malachi for sure.
Posted on 10/14/24 at 8:09 am to tideguy
Rule is if the interception happens within the five yard line it’s not a safety or if you’re progress takes you into the end zone it’s not a safety but I had zero problem with it just to be safe as no one was near him to make the tackle. I only know because I asked immediately after the game and some more knowledgeable posters explained it to me.
Posted on 10/14/24 at 11:06 am to labamafan
Yep, that’s the rule, but knowing how stupid refs are now, it could’ve cost us the game.
Posted on 10/14/24 at 12:11 pm to tideguy
Well, Now I feel bad for cussing him like I did, but he could have hit the ground as soon as he got out of the endzone. All I could think is that he's going to fumble for a scoop and score.
Posted on 10/14/24 at 12:42 pm to Deek
From the NCAA rule book:
SECTION 5. Safety
How Scored
ARTICLE 1. It is a safety when: a.
The ball becomes dead out of bounds behind a goal line, except from an incomplete forward pass, or becomes dead in the possession of a player on, above or behind their own goal line, or becomes dead by rule, and the defending team is responsible for the ball being there (A.R. 6-3-1-IV; A.R. 7-2-4-1; A.R. 8-5-1-I-II, IV and VI-X; A.R. 8-7-2-II; and A.R. 9-4-1-VIII).
When in question, it is a touchback, not a safety.
Exception:
It is not a safety if a player between their own team's five-yard line and goal line:
FR-90
RULE 8 / SCORING
(a) intercepts a pass or fumble; or recovers an opponents fumble or backward pass; or catches or recovers a kick; and
(b) the player's original momentum carries that player into their own end
(0) the bal remains behind that team's goal line and is declared dead in
that team's possession there. This includes a fumble that goes from the end zone into the field of play and out of bounds (Rule 7-2-4-b-1).
If conditions (a)-(c) are satistied above, the ball belongs to this player's team at the spot where that player gained possession.
SECTION 5. Safety
How Scored
ARTICLE 1. It is a safety when: a.
The ball becomes dead out of bounds behind a goal line, except from an incomplete forward pass, or becomes dead in the possession of a player on, above or behind their own goal line, or becomes dead by rule, and the defending team is responsible for the ball being there (A.R. 6-3-1-IV; A.R. 7-2-4-1; A.R. 8-5-1-I-II, IV and VI-X; A.R. 8-7-2-II; and A.R. 9-4-1-VIII).
When in question, it is a touchback, not a safety.
Exception:
It is not a safety if a player between their own team's five-yard line and goal line:
FR-90
RULE 8 / SCORING
(a) intercepts a pass or fumble; or recovers an opponents fumble or backward pass; or catches or recovers a kick; and
(b) the player's original momentum carries that player into their own end
(0) the bal remains behind that team's goal line and is declared dead in
that team's possession there. This includes a fumble that goes from the end zone into the field of play and out of bounds (Rule 7-2-4-b-1).
If conditions (a)-(c) are satistied above, the ball belongs to this player's team at the spot where that player gained possession.
This post was edited on 10/14/24 at 12:45 pm
Posted on 10/14/24 at 4:13 pm to tideguy
Would have been an awful officiating decision to rule that a safety over traditional momentum/touchback, but it’s been a long time since I felt like we got the benefit of the doubt from refs.
Posted on 10/14/24 at 4:40 pm to tideguy
As others have said , No. Momentum rule . It is a judgement call though so if you can get out , go ahead
This post was edited on 10/14/24 at 4:42 pm
Latest Alabama News
Popular
Back to top
8







