Posted by
Message
Fleurs
Alabama Fan
Birmingham
Member since Dec 2016
952 posts

University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
long overdue.

quote:

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. (WBRC) - The Board of Trustees of The University of Alabama System announced Monday a couple of things they will be doing in the coming weeks regarding the names of campus buildings and plaques honoring Confederate soldiers.

The Board, in consultation with UA President Dr. Stuart Bell, announced the removal of three plaques commemorating students who served in the Confederate Army and members of the student cadet corps involved in defending the university campus.

The plaques are located on and in front of Gorgas Library. The plaques will be saved and, according to the board, placed at a more appropriate historical setting at some point in the future.

In addition, the Board of Trustees has appointed a group of trustees to review and study the names of buildings on all UA System campuses and report to the board if they recommend any changes to the names of those buildings.

The final decision about those recommendations will be made at a public meeting in the future.


LINK

quote:

@WarOnDumb: University of Alabama has removed removed plaques honoring students who served at the Confederacy. They will be placed in a more appropriate location, the university says.






LINK
This post was edited on 6/8 at 4:50 pm


imjustafatkid
UAB Fan
Alabama
Member since Dec 2011
22984 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
Okay this is extremely stupid.

quote:

commemorating students who served in the Confederate Army and members of the student cadet corps involved in defending the university campus


There's no defending this action.


Fleurs
Alabama Fan
Birmingham
Member since Dec 2016
952 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
Wow, that's really surprising that you of all people would feel that way, lol


imjustafatkid
UAB Fan
Alabama
Member since Dec 2011
22984 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
Yes, I mean why should there be a plaque to commemerote students who defended the campus during the Civil War? How dumb is that?

We should just go ahead and destroy every building that survived the war too.

You're a moron.


Fleurs
Alabama Fan
Birmingham
Member since Dec 2016
952 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
quote:

We should just go ahead and destroy every building that survived the war too.

I think we won't do that and instead will just remove the plaques honoring treason.


Fleurs
Alabama Fan
Birmingham
Member since Dec 2016
952 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
Kind of a dumb suggestion if I'm being honest but it is of course your right to post it.
This post was edited on 6/8 at 4:54 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
314
imjustafatkid
UAB Fan
Alabama
Member since Dec 2011
22984 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
quote:

I think we won't do that and instead will just remove the plaques honoring treason.


You're such an ignorant fool. Were they suppose to just let the Union burn down the entire campus? These weren't soldiers. They were 15 and 16 year old boys.

People like you, incapable of keeping any level of context to history, are the problem with this country.

ETA: Educate yourself, idiot.

LINK
This post was edited on 6/8 at 5:02 pm


Fleurs
Alabama Fan
Birmingham
Member since Dec 2016
952 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
lol, I genuinely love that you think that. definitely thought about you as I posted this and wellp, you haven't disappointed.

I was an American History major in college btw, but 'ppreciate your interest in the Lost Cause.


imjustafatkid
UAB Fan
Alabama
Member since Dec 2011
22984 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
quote:

I was an American History major in college btw, but 'ppreciate your interest in the Lost Cause.


You need to turn that degree back in.


Fleurs
Alabama Fan
Birmingham
Member since Dec 2016
952 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
Such an upset fan having such a bad time. Bless your heart.


SR SponsorSR Fan
USA
Member since 2001
Thank you for supporting our sponsors
Advertisement
imjustafatkid
UAB Fan
Alabama
Member since Dec 2011
22984 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
You're the one with hate in your heart here. What a pathetic display of a student of history.
This post was edited on 6/8 at 5:02 pm


pvilleguru
Atlanta United Fan
Member since Jun 2009
55307 posts
 Online 

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
Yeah, this was a bit too glowy.



Fleurs
Alabama Fan
Birmingham
Member since Dec 2016
952 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
Rage posting how I'm a moron, ignorant, pathetic, etc. won't get that plaque put back up man. It's done. It's over.


imjustafatkid
UAB Fan
Alabama
Member since Dec 2011
22984 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
Which part do you find to be flowy? That all just looks like accurate statements. 15 and 16 year old kids defending the campus is an amazing thing.

This idea that everyone who fought for the Confederacy should be denigrated is ridiculous. Might be the most embarrassing thing about this generation.


14&Counting
Hawaii Fan
Manhattan Beach, CA
Member since Jul 2012
23641 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
quote:

You need to turn that degree back in.




Replies (0)
Replies (0)
160
imjustafatkid
UAB Fan
Alabama
Member since Dec 2011
22984 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
quote:

Rage posting how I'm a moron, ignorant, pathetic, etc. won't get that plaque put back up man. It's done. It's over.



Hey I'm just being honest. Would hate to give you the wrong idea that there's any defense of your stance here.


14&Counting
Hawaii Fan
Manhattan Beach, CA
Member since Jul 2012
23641 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
quote:

Yeah, this was a bit too glowy.


which part?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
110
pvilleguru
Atlanta United Fan
Member since Jun 2009
55307 posts
 Online 

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
quote:

Which part do you find to be flowy?

"Recognizing obedience to state, they loyally and uncomplainingly met the call of duty, in numberless instances sealing their devotion by their life blood."

"bravely forth to repel a veteran federal invading foe"

"To commemorate this heroic record..."

Not to mention it was erected by the United Daughters of the Confederacy, who was just trying to paint the CSA in the best possible light (and supported the Klan).
This post was edited on 6/8 at 5:24 pm


Fleurs
Alabama Fan
Birmingham
Member since Dec 2016
952 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
I don't need a defense of my stance as I'm not an out of touch Lost Cause apologist. It's done. It's over.



Carolina Tide
Atlanta United Fan
Atlanta
Member since Jul 2013
5707 posts

re: University of Alabama system to review all building names, remove Confederate Army plaques
Saw this on Twitter.

What a GREAT day for the state of Alabama!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
920
Jump to page
Page 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 11next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow SECRant for SEC Football News
Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get the latest updates on SEC Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitter