Started By
Message

re: Why didn't the Alabama player get called for targeting?

Posted on 10/24/16 at 8:29 am to
Posted by Wallacewade04
Valhalla
Member since Dec 2011
2870 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 8:29 am to
Tennessee fans really need that narrative to get over the shellacking we just handed them at home, huh?

You guys in offseason mode already?
Posted by WhiskeyPapa
Member since Aug 2016
9277 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 8:32 am to
quote:

Tennessee fans really need that narrative to get over the shellacking we just handed them at home, huh?

You guys in offseason mode already?


I didn't think anything of it -- until I heard the SEC officials in Birmingham misrepresent the way the rules read because CBS was calling it a horrible no-call.
Posted by WhiskeyPapa
Member since Aug 2016
9277 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 8:34 am to
quote:

It's a missed call on a rule that continues to evolve. Really nothing more.


That is not the issue at all. The issue is the SEC officials misrepreseting how the rule reads.
Posted by StopRobot
Mobile, AL
Member since May 2013
15680 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 8:47 am to
quote:

This clear bias for Alabama ought to be a really big deal.



Again I keep asking why it isnt. Why don't the 13 other SEC ADs do anything about it?
Posted by elit4ce05
Member since Jun 2011
3750 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 8:51 am to
Dude, you're really stuck on that, aren't you?

Just because the helmets meet, does not make it targeting. He was not defenseless. Get over it.
Posted by Guitarcheese
Lakesite, TN
Member since Jul 2015
1463 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 8:55 am to
It's not targeting unless Saban says it is
Posted by KyleOrtonsMustache
Krystal Baller
Member since Jan 2008
5110 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 8:58 am to
Just want to chime in and say, I'm sorry all of your schools are poor and can't afford to buy the refs, the SEC office, the TV commentators and the United States Government.
Posted by DeathPenalty
H-Town
Member since Apr 2016
399 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 8:59 am to
Because Speedy Noil is a bad person.
Posted by DeathPenalty
H-Town
Member since Apr 2016
399 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 8:59 am to
Because Speedy Noil is a bad person.
Posted by NYCAuburn
TD Platinum Membership/SECr Sheriff
Member since Feb 2011
57004 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 9:03 am to
quote:

Just because the helmets meet, does not make it targeting. He was not defenseless. Get over it.




There are two rules, I believe you are hung up on one of them


quote:

Targeting and Initiating Contact With the Crown of the Helmet (Rule 9-1-3)

No player shall target and initiate contact against an opponent with the crown (top) of his helmet. When in question, it is a foul.


quote:

Targeting and Initiating Contact to Head or Neck Area of a Defenseless Player (Rule 9-1-4)

No player shall target and initiate contact to the head or neck area of a defenseless opponent with the helmet, forearm, fist, elbow or shoulder. When in question, it is a foul. (Rule 2-27-14)



Posted by Whens lunch
San Antonio
Member since Oct 2012
562 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 9:09 am to
What is this ....page 10 of arguing on this topic? So there's apparent doubt amongst this esteemed community with all the time in the world to review it.

The rule:


quote:

Targeting and Initiating Contact With the Crown of the Helmet (Rule 9-1-3)

No player shall target and initiate contact against an opponent with the crown (top) of his helmet. When in question, it is a foul.

Targeting and Initiating Contact to Head or Neck Area of a Defenseless Player (Rule 9-1-4)

No player shall target and initiate contact to the head or neck area of a defenseless opponent with the helmet, forearm, fist, elbow or shoulder. When in question, it is a foul. (Rule 2-27-14)


Bolding is mine. the hit was egregious, any competent official with access to the video could see it met the letter of the rule, but if there was any doubt on this, due to the violent contact to the head....it's still a foul by rule.

edit: Didn't mean to copy/paste rule 9-1-4 also. As has been mentioned that rule relates to defenseless players. The bold portion is what rules in this case.
This post was edited on 10/24/16 at 9:33 am
Posted by elit4ce05
Member since Jun 2011
3750 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 9:13 am to
no, you are trying to mix the two.
Defenseless and not defenseless. So anything rules that says "defenseless" can be tossed.

No player shall target and initiate contact against an opponent with the crown (top) of his helmet


"This specifies a hit with the top of the helmet, but not necessarily a hit to the opponent’s helmet".

“What replay has to decipher, and use judgment if you will, that contact that then resulted to the head was it incidental or was it forcible,” Shaw said.

The End
Posted by NYCAuburn
TD Platinum Membership/SECr Sheriff
Member since Feb 2011
57004 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 9:17 am to
quote:

no, you are trying to mix the two.


What?

quote:

Targeting and Initiating Contact With the Crown of the Helmet (Rule 9-1-3) No player shall target and initiate contact against an opponent with the crown (top) of his helmet. When in question, it is a foul.


there is nothing about defenseless in this rule.


You said it wasnt targeting because he wasnt defenseless, that isnt true.
This post was edited on 10/24/16 at 9:18 am
Posted by Whens lunch
San Antonio
Member since Oct 2012
562 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 9:30 am to
quote:

"This specifies a hit with the top of the helmet, but not necessarily a hit to the opponent’s helmet".




The crown has been defined: from top of the facemark to the top of the helmet.

Posted by FreddieMac
Baton Rouge
Member since Jun 2010
24543 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 9:34 am to
Because Birmingham.
Posted by WhiskeyPapa
Member since Aug 2016
9277 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 9:36 am to
quote:

Just because the helmets meet, does not make it targeting. He was not defenseless. Get over it.


It was absolutely targeting under the rule.

"No player shall target and make forcible contact against an opponent with the crown (top) of his helmet. This foul requires that there be at least one indicator of targeting (See Note 1 below). When in question, it is a foul."

Note 1:

"Targeting" means that a player takes aim at an opponent for purposes of attacking with forcible contact that goes beyond making a legal tackle or a legal block or playing the ball. Some indicators of targeting include but are not limited to:

Launch—a player leaving his feet to attack an opponent by an upward and forward thrust of the body to make forcible contact in the head or neck area
A crouch followed by an upward and forward thrust to attack with forcible contact at the head or neck area, even though one or both feet are still on the ground
Leading with helmet, shoulder, forearm, fist, hand or elbow to attack with forcible contact at the head or neck area
Lowering the head before attacking by initiating forcible contact with the crown of the helmet"

So when the SEC officials told the CBS crew that Noil was not defenseless so it wasn't targeting, they misrepresented how the rule reads.
Posted by Wallacewade04
Valhalla
Member since Dec 2011
2870 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 9:39 am to
holy shite

someone is melting over a call on special teams return
Posted by elit4ce05
Member since Jun 2011
3750 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 9:40 am to
"This specifies a hit with the top of the helmet, but not necessarily a hit to the opponent’s helmet".

quote:

Targeting and Initiating Contact With the Crown of the Helmet (Rule 9-1-3) No player shall target and initiate contact against an opponent with the crown (top) of his helmet. When in question, it is a foul.




NOT defenseless...NOT crown (top)

quote:

“What replay has to decipher, and use judgment if you will, that contact that then resulted to the head was it incidental or was it forcible,” Shaw said.
This post was edited on 10/24/16 at 9:45 am
Posted by NYCAuburn
TD Platinum Membership/SECr Sheriff
Member since Feb 2011
57004 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 9:43 am to
thanks for clarifying it was targeting... Your bolding shows it nicely.


However back to your previous argument, do you concede you were wrong?
Posted by 14&Counting
Dallas, TX
Member since Jul 2012
40273 posts
Posted on 10/24/16 at 9:47 am to
quote:

There are two rules, I believe you are hung up on one of them


This discussion still going?

I think the operative word in the 9-1-3 rule is "shall target" which means intentional and I don't think Mack intentionally targeted Noil by hitting a punt returner in possession of the ball and making a football move. However, it errs on the side of caution when saying if there is any question its a foul. Even though the paly was reviewable the call on the field was a non-target so it would have to have convincing evidence to get it overturned

I agree it's a bit ambiguous.
Jump to page
Page First 7 8 9 10 11 12
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 9 of 12Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow SECRant for SEC Football News
Follow us on X and Facebook to get the latest updates on SEC Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitter