Posted by
Message
white beans
LSU Fan
Istrouma
Member since Sep 2009
4370 posts

Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
Will they ever be competitive again?
Lyle had it going a little but obviously crashed out. What is the real problem over there?


YoungTigah
LSU Fan
Member since Jun 2017
598 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
733
scrooster
Army Fan
Resident Ethicist
Member since Jul 2012
30823 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
It’s hard to tell.

Obviously they have all the resources and tradition and fan support but .... it’s been so long. Sometimes it’s hard to get it back. Plus you’ve got Bama just absolutely bending them over and butt banging them every year.

If they don’t get it done with Pruitt it could be a sign of an ominous future for the Vols.


bXII
Member since Dec 2018
629 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
They have to beat Vanderbilt first. Baby steps.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
305
CarolinaGamecock99
South Carolina Fan
Member since Apr 2015
11842 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
They’re done it’s over


Dawgholio
Georgia Fan
Burger King parking lot
Member since Oct 2015
7767 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
There isn’t much in state top talent in Tennessee. Fatso was able to recruit Georgia well and that’s why they were good back then. If they can’t recruit the Deep South then they are screwed.


agswin
Texas A&M Fan
The Republic of Texas
Member since Aug 2011
3016 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
SEC version of Nebraska.

They should team up with UCLA, Colorado, Nebraska, Iowa, Michigan, Oklahoma, Texas, Georgia Tech, Florida State and Miami and call themselves the We Were Once Pretty Good Conference.

All of their games would be broadcast on 32 inch black and white televisions using rabbit ears for reception.


BowlJackson
UAB Fan
Birmingham, AL
Member since Sep 2013
41123 posts
 Online 

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
quote:

Honest opinions on Tennessee Football


Sad


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
102
RainKing96
Alabama Fan
Member since Jul 2017
758 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
My opinon is thst the orange turds suck.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
TnMountaineer
South Carolina Fan
Nashville, Tennessee
Member since Aug 2018
1073 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
frick em. They suck. They won’t ever be what they were again. The landscape has changed.

frick em.


FiddleHead
Tennessee Fan
Knoxville, TN
Member since Aug 2011
12345 posts
 Online 

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
quote:

frick em. They suck.


quote:

South Carolina Fan


lmao


I let the dogs out
Mississippi St. Fan
Member since Sep 2017
832 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
quote:

If they don’t get it done with Pruitt it could be a sign of an ominous future for the Vols.


I think the Vols are living in the ominous present. It’s here already.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
50
momentoftruth87
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2013
26680 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
D-U-N DUN Son


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
BIGFOOD
USA Fan
Member since Jun 2011
6479 posts
 Online 

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
My honest opinion is that UT has a solid coach/staff. His first recruiting class was really good as well. Pruitt is going to need a couple more classes like his first one to flip that roster before they make any real noise in this conference.

Looking at their schedule, I do think they will be bowl bound this coming year.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
43
ExpoTiger
Member since Jul 2014
2852 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
Yes they will get it right again eventually. Pruitt is a step in the right direction in the very least. If they show improvement and can keep the best players in Tenn, they will turn things around. They have watched way too much talent leave the state over the last few years.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
31
3down10
Alabama Fan
Member since Sep 2014
3335 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
I'm pretty happy with the current state of Tennessee Football.


sand mountainDvalues
UCF Fan
Member since Oct 2018
3495 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
Most VOLS couldn’t give one single shite about football and have fully embraced our future on the hardwood
This post was edited on 5/15 at 11:59 pm


jimdog
columbus, ga
Member since Dec 2012
3657 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
Pruitt will win @ UT. The SEC East needs UT to be successful. And he will deliver after a couple more years. They've got the $$, the fans and likely now the recruiting base to win. But most of all they have the coach. It will help if Fulmer will slide into the background a bit. He is supportive and had the presence to pick the right guy but doesn't need to be the show.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
62
VagueMessage
Arkansas Fan
Fayetteville, AR
Member since Jun 2013
2338 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
I'd say they have the tradition and support, but not the resources. Especially when you consider resources to be local recruiting grounds and ability to draw a name-brand HC. Arkansas suffers from a similar fate; the recruiting landscape has changed drastically. That's not to say they can't or won't do it, it's jusy their margin for error has significantly shrunk. Nebraska mirrors them uncomfortably in this respect. I believe Nebraska can make a return, but they have to stop doing stupid shite. Frank Solich was an excellent coach. They fired him because he couldn't quite fill Tom Osborne's shoes, but no fricking shite he didn't. They didn't even give him a chance. Mike Riley? The coach who could sometimes manage eight wins at Oregon State? What was that about? Arkansas isn't doing much better in bone-headed coach hires. We can be good again. We can be even consistently good. But we can't hire someone like Ed Orgeron who can sleep his way to 8–5 because of LSU's fertile recruiting soil.

I think a lot of major teams who experience success make the same mistake Tennessee did. They fired an excellent coach who was on the decline - but still performing - and didn't have anyone better lined up because they felt like the name alone would draw someone who could win them NC's within a year or two.


VagueMessage
Arkansas Fan
Fayetteville, AR
Member since Jun 2013
2338 posts

re: Honest opinions on Tennessee Football
Oklahoma? The same Oklahoma that's been to three out of the five playoff games? The same one that wins 10–12 each year?

Florida State won the NC six years ago. They've had two bad years recently. You hired their coach who got them one of the two bad years.

Michigan is back to being very competitive and threatening, they're just paying a retarded amount of money for it, with no hardware yet to make it worth it.

Texas finally just had another good year. Their first in like this entire decade. Miami at least has potential. It kind of doesn't make any sense why they suck as much as they do.

I would throw Arkansas and Texas A&M in with that list long before half of the others.


Page 1 2 3 4 5
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 5next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow SECRant for SEC Football News
Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get the latest updates on SEC Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitter