Posted by
Message
dbuchanon
Florida Fan
Member since Nov 2014
18551 posts

Mertz review on Gators Breakdowb



Gator Fever
Florida Fan
Member since Sep 2021
891 posts

re: Mertz review on Gators Breakdowb
Not sure what to think of Mertz. Wisconsin fans were glad to see him go but that is expected. I watched 2 of their games - all offensive plays and they were mostly a running team but Mertz threw a bad interception in each of those games. You kind of got the feeling like us they didn't have many playmakers at WR.
This post was edited on 1/19 at 12:58 pm


Partha
Columbia Fan
Member since Jan 2022
3517 posts

re: Mertz review on Gators Breakdowb
quote:

You kind of got the feeling like us they didn't have many playmakers at WR


Hopefully this year we'll have some of the new guys step up like ETN did last year.

We have a young core but they seem like they have potential.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
dbuchanon
Florida Fan
Member since Nov 2014
18551 posts

re: Mertz review on Gators Breakdowb
How do you run heavy and not call playaction?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
Peter167
Florida Fan
Member since Mar 2020
4798 posts

re: Mertz review on Gators Breakdowb
He just needs to be a 1 year stop gap to get us to DJ Lagway hopefully.


Guys like Johnson, Etienne Pearsall, Mizell, Jean, Wilson, and if we can field a good OL i think he can be serviceable if not good. It's one of those years if we can get a good class and hit 8 wins it would be great. Also i wanna see some of the freshmen and sophomores start to develop that's what I'll be looking for that.


SR SponsorSR Fan
USA
Member since 2001
Thank you for supporting our sponsors
Advertisement
dbuchanon
Florida Fan
Member since Nov 2014
18551 posts

re: Mertz review on Gators Breakdowb
Doubt Billy will start a Frosh QB. Most HCs wont unless its dire situation


Gator Fever
Florida Fan
Member since Sep 2021
891 posts

re: Mertz review on Gators Breakdowb
That is why we are in a predicament for 2024 now. We may have a playoff capable team then with a good QB but now there is no high school blue chipper in either of Napiers 2 classes.

10-2 in the new SEC will be a lock in the new 12 team playoff while 9-3 will be a 50% or so chance to get in probably. 9-3 in the new SEC won't be easy though.
This post was edited on 1/28 at 7:54 am


dbuchanon
Florida Fan
Member since Nov 2014
18551 posts

re: Mertz review on Gators Breakdowb
UGA just won 2 nattys with a walkon QB.

We have 2 4 star QBs on the roster with plenty of eligibility left


bengalbait
Florida Fan
Grove Lounge
Member since Sep 2009
4381 posts

re: Mertz review on Gators Breakdowb
quote:

We have 2 4 star QBs on the roster with plenty of eligibility left


If they stay. With the way NIL and the portal operate, I doubt either of them will see the field at UF.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Gator Fever
Florida Fan
Member since Sep 2021
891 posts

re: Mertz review on Gators Breakdowb
Not too high on those guys though. Hoping Mertz with a change of scenery improves a lot.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 1next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top

logoFollow SECRant for SEC Football News
Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get the latest updates on SEC Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitter