Started By
Message

re: The Safety That Wasn't

Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:46 pm to
Posted by 3down10
Member since Sep 2014
38255 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:46 pm to
quote:


Refute that motherfrickers.


If he is down at that point, then Alabama is the one who got screwed.

#0 at that point is a full 7 yards away but still hits Bryce, and has to dive down to do so.

If he is down at that point, the actual outcome of the play should have been roughing the passer, 15 yards, automatic first down, Alabama ball on the 19.

So I'm not really sure this is the tree you think it is. The reason they removed the roughing the passer call is because they viewed him as NOT down at that point, and that he wasn't down until after he threw the ball. Thus the hit wasn't late and it wasn't roughing the passer.

Posted by JJJimmyJimJames
Southern States
Member since May 2020
18496 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:46 pm to
quote:

Because it was not a safety. Qb threw ball before bei g down

BULL SHITE

The "In the Grasp" rule was put in place to protect QBs. It states: “The Referee must blow the play dead as soon as the passer is clearly in the grasp and control of any tackler behind the line, and the passer’s safety is in jeopardy.”

SAFETY!

At the time he was being tackled in the end zone, he was DOWN IN THE END ZONE
Posted by TideWarrior
Asheville/Chapel Hill NC
Member since Sep 2009
12937 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:47 pm to
quote:

His elbow was down while he had the ball.


Please post a pic as I have not seen this yet.
Posted by 3down10
Member since Sep 2014
38255 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:48 pm to
quote:


If the Texas kicker makes the end of first half FG, and the refs called the safety correctly, the gumps lose by four.

But that’s a safety all day long. His leg is laying in the end zone and the ball is clearly in hand.




Ok, but then how do you justify #0 in that same image still putting a hit on Bryce?

Bryce is about 6 to 7 yards into the endzone. #0 is just on the other side of the goal line. If he is down at that point, how is that not roughing the passer?


Posted by LSUStar
Medellin
Member since Sep 2009
11405 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:50 pm to
Agree 100%.
Posted by dbeck
Member since Nov 2014
29454 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:51 pm to
quote:

how do you justify #0 in that same image still putting a hit on Bryce?

You can hit a player before the whistle blows and the refs can later review and determine the player was down.

Is this your first year watching football?
Posted by LSUStar
Medellin
Member since Sep 2009
11405 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:51 pm to
Both are eminently detestable. I hear ye.
Posted by megiddo
Member since May 2020
558 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:52 pm to
As has been explained, once Bryce is down that's a safety, play is over and ball is dead. Any personal foul that occurs after the play is over would be enforced on the kickoff.
This post was edited on 9/11/22 at 5:53 pm
Posted by LSUStar
Medellin
Member since Sep 2009
11405 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:52 pm to
His opinion is misguided at best and more than likely nefarious. You people are truly insufferable.
Posted by TideWarrior
Asheville/Chapel Hill NC
Member since Sep 2009
12937 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:53 pm to
quote:

The "In the Grasp" rule was put in place to protect QBs. It states:


I know this rule was or maybe still is in use in the NFL but can you please link where it is a rule in the NCAA
Posted by troyt37
Member since Mar 2008
14680 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:53 pm to
quote:

And he doesn't get hit by the guy who is 7 yards away at that point for even longer than that.


But if the play isn’t blown dead, which I assume it wasn’t, then the Texass players did exactly what they were supposed to do. Play to the whistle. Play was still live, QB was throwing the ball.

Upon review, they should have recognized he was down before the ball was ever thrown. There was no roughing because the play hadn’t been whistled dead. I don’t know, don’t really have a dog in the fight, other than my love of watching Texass lose.
This post was edited on 9/11/22 at 5:54 pm
Posted by KellerChrystFan
Member since Sep 2018
9630 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:54 pm to
Hey man. No logic allowed in here.
Posted by Trumansfangs
Mo
Member since Sep 2018
7998 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:54 pm to
quote:

Is this your first year watching football?


I'd bet it's not. Is it yours ?
Posted by skrayper
21-0 Asterisk Drive
Member since Nov 2012
34483 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:55 pm to
quote:

If he is down at that point, then Alabama is the one who got screwed.

#0 at that point is a full 7 yards away but still hits Bryce, and has to dive down to do so.

If he is down at that point, the actual outcome of the play should have been roughing the passer, 15 yards, automatic first down, Alabama ball on the 19.

So I'm not really sure this is the tree you think it is. The reason they removed the roughing the passer call is because they viewed him as NOT down at that point, and that he wasn't down until after he threw the ball. Thus the hit wasn't late and it wasn't roughing the passer.



That's not how this works.

It's only fair if the ruling specifically goes against Alabama, and the moment it would be in Alabama's favor ceases to exist in this timeline - this is because Nick Saban clearly cheated by using the Time Stone.
Posted by viceman
Huntsville, AL
Member since Aug 2016
30688 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:56 pm to
quote:

Late Hit, roughing the passer.
First down by rule.
QED.

This is what nobody seems to get. The flag that was thrown was for roughing. So if they rule Young down, it isn't a safety after the penalty. It isn't one that is enforced on the kickoff. It is a roughing penalty first and 10 Bama. They waved the flag after they ruled he wasn't down, because you can't get a late hit if the play is still live. Therefore they actually ruled the best way for UTx under the circumstances. Had they ruled him down, it is an Alabama first down. Now I hope feel free to disagree with the roughing call. I do. But those that claiming safety are ignorant of the rules.
Posted by TideWarrior
Asheville/Chapel Hill NC
Member since Sep 2009
12937 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:56 pm to
quote:

once Bryce is down that's a safety,


Yet nothing has shown he is down. Someone said is elbow but only his hand touched the ground. Others are pointing out his leg, the part no one can actually see.

So according to the evidence presented he was never down.
This post was edited on 9/11/22 at 5:58 pm
Posted by 3down10
Member since Sep 2014
38255 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:56 pm to
quote:


You can hit a player before the whistle blows and the refs can later review and determine the player was down.

Is this your first year watching football?


Good point actually.

Of course, that wasn't under review and nobody challenged it. But I think you make a good point.

Posted by dbeck
Member since Nov 2014
29454 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:56 pm to
Posted by LSUStar
Medellin
Member since Sep 2009
11405 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:57 pm to
But..but your position is that he’s not down.
Posted by MackDaddyBrown
Member since Jul 2021
4107 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:57 pm to
quote:

I've posted it multiple times today for various retards.

You posted a wikipedia copy paste job that had no citations linked with it
Jump to page
Page First 5 6 7 8 9 ... 12
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 7 of 12Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow SECRant for SEC Football News
Follow us on X and Facebook to get the latest updates on SEC Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitter