Started By
Message
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:11 am to AulderMagee
I don’t think that’s an out, but I don’t know the rule well enough. Not sure what the Kentucky runner could have done differently.
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:12 am to ForeverGator
That’s an out. It’s his job to stay down.
(Wish it wasn’t. I want UK up score some.)
(Wish it wasn’t. I want UK up score some.)
This post was edited on 6/19/24 at 11:13 am
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:12 am to kywildcatfanone
All I can say so far is at least we have that Walk Off against NC State to savor.


Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:12 am to ForeverGator
You'd think it wouldn't matter considering he was in the basepaths. Don't know about college tho.
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:13 am to ForeverGator
I know the rules are different from baseball to softball but practically the same thing happened during the wcws and they said it was no interference.
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:14 am to RebelRye
Not sure why ming challenged this anyways.
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:14 am to ForeverGator
quote:
Not sure what the Kentucky runner could have done differently.
Not pop up like a jack in the box to get in the way of the double play?
It's time to for the Minge to sit Curley and bring in Moe.
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:14 am to hoojy
I just don’t know the rule. He popped back up, but donno if it was on purpose. Guess it doesn’t matter.
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:15 am to hoojy
I believe the rule is you have to slide on a force out, he slid, then popped back up. Pretty cut and dry.
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:17 am to TomSpanks
KOS laughing at Kentucky coaches
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:17 am to hoojy
quote:Guessing he figured wtf not. Maybe something nutty breaks your way.
Not sure why ming challenged this anyways.
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:17 am to ForeverGator
quote:
I don’t think that’s an out, but I don’t know the rule well enough. Not sure what the Kentucky runner could have done differently.
Definitely an out.
Runner can't pop up like that. He slid short of the bag and popped up immediately.
Runner can't 'deliberately' do something that interferes after he's put out - he's out, and pops up fast after sliding WAY before the bag after being put out, it's interference.
If he never slides, he's probably fine.
This post was edited on 6/19/24 at 11:20 am
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:18 am to Fe_Mike
Makes sense. I was wondering what would happen if he never slid. I guess that of course would change how the 2nd baseman throws it to first.
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:18 am to TomSpanks
quote:
I believe the rule is you have to slide on a force out.
That would make sense.
This post was edited on 6/19/24 at 11:20 am
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:18 am to ForeverGator
Here is the rule from the NCAA baseball rulebook. That situation is not directly addressed.
SECTION 51? An act that hinders or prevents a player from making a play?
a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with,
obstructs, impedes, hinders, or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play?
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:18 am to TomSpanks
quote:
I believe the rule is you have to slide on a force out
Nope, that's a little league rule.
Don't have to slide on a force.
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:23 am to Fe_Mike
quote:
Nope, that's a little league rule.
Don't have to slide on a force.
Oh yeah?
ncaa baseball rule book rule 8 section 4
SECTION 4. The intent of the force-play-slide rule is to ensure the safety of all players. This is a safety and an interference rule. Whether the defense could have completed the double play has no bearing on the applicability of this rule. This rule pertains to a force-play situation at any base, regardless of the number of outs.
a. On any force play, the runner must slide on the ground before the base and in a direct line between the two bases. It is permissible for the slider’s momentum to carry him through the base in the baseline extended
Posted on 6/19/24 at 11:25 am to Fe_Mike
quote:
Nope, that's a little league rule.
Don't have to slide on a force.
Very very incorrect. Please go to the back of the line.
From the NCAA baseball rulebook for 2023 and 2024.
Force-Play-Slide Rule
SECTION 4? The intent of the force-play-slide rule is to ensure the safety of all
players? This is a safety and an interference rule? Whether the defense could have
completed the double play has no bearing on the applicability of this rule? This
rule pertains to a force-play situation at any base, regardless of the number of
outs, except it does not apply to the batter-runner at first base?
a? On any force play, the runner, in the vicinity of the base, must slide on
the ground before the base and in a direct line between the two bases? It is
permissible for the slider’s momentum to carry them through the base in the
baseline extended (see diagram)?
Exception—A runner need not slide directly into a base as long as the
runner slides or runs in a direction away from the fielder to avoid making
contact or altering the play of the fielder? The umpire may use judgement due
to the unusual nature of a play such as when a runner does not slide and is safe
at the base before the throw arrives or slides directly to a base from a position
not in a direct line between bases, as long as there is no issue with safety or
interference? Interference shall not be called?
1) “On the ground” means either a headfirst slide or a slide with one leg and
buttock on the ground before the base?
2) “Directly into a base” means the runner’s entire body (feet, legs, trunk and
arms) must stay in a straight line between the bases?
This post was edited on 6/19/24 at 11:27 am
Popular
Back to top



2





