Started By
Message

Question about the Robinson touching of the punt

Posted on 10/16/22 at 10:44 am
Posted by Bham Bammer
Member since Nov 2014
16418 posts
Posted on 10/16/22 at 10:44 am
Look - we lost. This isn't sour grapes. We made a bunch of stupid shitty plays and Robinson's was one of them. With that said...

As I was watching this yesterday, I had a question in my mind about that play. If it's been brought up already, I apologize.

Robinson thought the ball touched Kool-Aid I guess (but it didn't). At that point Robinson starts to reach down to grab the ball and as he's reaching (before he touches it) he is shoved by the UT player in the back. Is that not the definition of kick catch interference? Yes, it was a dumb chance by Robinson but based on the reality of the situation, he should've been given the opportunity to field the ball without interference and he wasn't. Right?

Again, this is a rules question. We fricked up and found out yesterday, so save me your posts about complaining about officials. I am genuinely curious if the kick catch rule goes away if the ball has touched the ground already - I didn't think it did, but maybe so.
Posted by YStar
Member since Mar 2013
19562 posts
Posted on 10/16/22 at 10:48 am to
Good question but I think because Robinson isn't the return man all is fair when it comes to grabbing the ball.

He just should have fell on it.
Posted by Bham Bammer
Member since Nov 2014
16418 posts
Posted on 10/16/22 at 10:49 am to
Agreed, and you may be right but I don't know if the rules define a return man. I may do some digging just for my own understanding. Even though I'll probably never see a play like that again.
Posted by Bamachief
Member since Aug 2021
1105 posts
Posted on 10/16/22 at 10:52 am to
Once the punt hit the ground, there is no fair catch. Fair catch must be signaled while ball is in the air by the returner.
Posted by cmayes56
Alabama
Member since Oct 2015
3202 posts
Posted on 10/16/22 at 10:55 am to
He made a brain dead play and it’s unexplainable
Posted by Bham Bammer
Member since Nov 2014
16418 posts
Posted on 10/16/22 at 10:57 am to
Even without a fair catch the return team has to be given the opportunity to field the ball. You may be right about it touching the ground, though.
This post was edited on 10/16/22 at 11:01 am
Posted by ChromaticTide
Member since Dec 2021
892 posts
Posted on 10/16/22 at 10:57 am to
If i can read lips correctly, Saban said

"WHAT ARE YOU DOING???!! WHAT THE FUCCCVKKKKK ARE YOU DOING????!!!!"
Posted by TroyTider
Florida Panhandle
Member since Oct 2009
3998 posts
Posted on 10/16/22 at 12:45 pm to
You read his lips right.
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 1Next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top
logoFollow SECRant for SEC Football News
Follow us on X and Facebook to get the latest updates on SEC Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitter