Started By
Message

re: “YOUUU CAN’T DO THAT” *Clap clap, clap clap clap*

Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:35 pm to
Posted by VOLhalla
Knoxville
Member since Feb 2011
4782 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:35 pm to
quote:

I stopped the gif at the point the ball stopping moving forward and began moving backwards.


FYI, it’s the ballcarrier’s movement, not the ball’s movement, which is determinative for forward progress.

To be technically correct you still need to actually be correct
Posted by 3down10
Member since Sep 2014
30934 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:38 pm to
quote:


FYI, it’s the ballcarrier’s movement, not the ball’s movement, which is determinative for forward progress.

To be technically correct you still need to actually be correct


Forward progress is over when your own player pulls on him. It doesn't matter what the ball or ball carrier is doing.
Posted by RockyMtnTigerWDE
War Damn Eagle Dad!
Member since Oct 2010
107241 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:40 pm to
Yeah, I agree with that.

You can push but you can’t pull even though it happens a lot and never gets flagged or overturned.

I still think it was a bullshite call. The runner was still churning his legs.
This post was edited on 12/30/21 at 11:44 pm
Posted by KellerChrystFan
Member since Sep 2018
9630 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:40 pm to
quote:

The problem is that forward progress was stopped before the assisting the runner penalty. So it would not have been a touchdown, they would have called the assisting the runner penalty, declined because of forward progress stopped before breaking the plane, and end game.


That is 100% wrong.
Posted by KellerChrystFan
Member since Sep 2018
9630 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:41 pm to
quote:

Forward progress is over when your own player pulls on him.


This is a complete lie. Why are you making shite up?
Posted by KellerChrystFan
Member since Sep 2018
9630 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:42 pm to
quote:

The problem is that forward progress was stopped before the assisting the runner penalty


There is no penalty if the forward progress was stopped. The play is dead. The debate is whether his forward progress was actually stopped or not.
Posted by VOLhalla
Knoxville
Member since Feb 2011
4782 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:45 pm to
quote:

Forward progress is over when your own player pulls on him. It doesn't matter what the ball or ball carrier is doing.


No it isn’t lol. No where in the NFL rule book does it say that a pulling penalty results in the ball carriers forward progress ending

Are you under the impression that an offensive holding penalty ends a ball carriers forward progress?

A spot foul doesn’t equal the end of forward progress
Posted by KellerChrystFan
Member since Sep 2018
9630 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:46 pm to
quote:

Are you under the impression that an offensive holding penalty ends a ball carriers forward progress?


Yes - he is.

He's just spewing trash and spreading false information hoping it sticks.
Posted by Tuscaloosa
12x Award Winning SECRant user
Member since Dec 2011
49297 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:47 pm to
quote:

FYI, it’s the ballcarrier’s movement, not the ball’s movement, which is determinative for forward progress.

To be technically correct you still need to actually be correct


That’s cute. His entire body stopped moving forward, too. So there’s that.
Posted by 3down10
Member since Sep 2014
30934 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:49 pm to
quote:



This is a complete lie. Why are you making shite up?




I'm not making anything up. Forward progress was over the moment his teammate starts to pull on him. They would throw the flag and blow the whistle at the same time.

Thus the play will be marked at the spot of the foul - unless they didn't decline the penalty, in which case you do the down over - 5 yards.

It's not a foul where they let the play continue because it's the end of forward progress which is always the end of the play.
Posted by KellerChrystFan
Member since Sep 2018
9630 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:51 pm to
quote:

I'm not making anything up. Forward progress was over the moment his teammate starts to pull on him. They would throw the flag and blow the whistle at the same time.



No it is not. You're literally making this shite up.
Posted by VOLhalla
Knoxville
Member since Feb 2011
4782 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:51 pm to
quote:

That’s cute. His entire body stopped moving forward, too. So there’s that.


Nah, he kept churning his legs, pushing harder and further into the defenders chest.

I love that you’re so butthurt over an obvious TN touchdown that you’re not opposed to letting players fight it out on the 1 with the game on the line.

Watching football must be miserable for you
Posted by 3down10
Member since Sep 2014
30934 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:51 pm to
quote:


No it isn’t lol. No where in the NFL rule book does it say that a pulling penalty results in the ball carriers forward progress ending

Are you under the impression that an offensive holding penalty ends a ball carriers forward progress?

A spot foul doesn’t equal the end of forward progress


It's a foul that occurs at the same time as the end of the play.

Every play is over at the end of forward progress - correct?

So when the offensive player pulls on him, that is both a penalty AND the end of forward progress, thus the end of the play. The end result is the ball will be placed at the spot of the foul, not in the end zone.

This post was edited on 12/30/21 at 11:52 pm
Posted by BrotherDawg84
Member since Dec 2020
3103 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:52 pm to
quote:

quote:
The point is, the official fricked up. It was a TD.








No TD. Forward progress was stopped, play was dead.
Posted by KellerChrystFan
Member since Sep 2018
9630 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:52 pm to
quote:

o when the offensive player pulls on him, that is both a penalty AND the end of forward progress, thus the end of the play.


There was no end of forward progress. Just stop. If there was then there can't be a penalty. A player pulling his teammate does no stop a player's forward progress instantly.
Posted by 3down10
Member since Sep 2014
30934 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:53 pm to
quote:



No it is not. You're literally making this shite up.


You can't pull on a guy like that if they are making forward progress. The fact he is committing the foul is a sign that forward progress has stopped.
Posted by VOLhalla
Knoxville
Member since Feb 2011
4782 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:54 pm to
quote:

It's a foul that occurs at the same time as the end of the play.


The end of the play was when the ball crossed the goal line
Posted by KellerChrystFan
Member since Sep 2018
9630 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:54 pm to
quote:

The fact he is committing the foul is a sign that forward progress has stopped.


This is your problem. You're 100% wrong on this. You can help pull a guy and him still be moving forward. What alternate reality are you living in?
Posted by 3down10
Member since Sep 2014
30934 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:55 pm to
quote:


There was no end of forward progress. Just stop. If there was then there can't be a penalty. A player pulling his teammate does no stop a player's forward progress instantly.




You might have a better argument if they didn't stop it for forward progress on the field without even calling the penalty.



Posted by KellerChrystFan
Member since Sep 2018
9630 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:56 pm to
You're arguing a penalty that COULDN'T EVEN OCCUR based on the call on the field. It was the wrong call on the field, had they let it play out as it should've it would've been a TD. If the penalty was assessed it would've been 4th and 6.
Jump to page
Page First 5 6 7 8 9 10
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 7 of 10Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow SECRant for SEC Football News
Follow us on X and Facebook to get the latest updates on SEC Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitter