Started By
Message

re: “YOUUU CAN’T DO THAT” *Clap clap, clap clap clap*

Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:50 pm to
Posted by KellerChrystFan
Member since Sep 2018
9630 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:50 pm to
He’s inferring there is no “forward progress” when a teammate commits said penalty, which is 100% false. He had forward progress with or without the teammate.
Posted by NATidefan
Two hours North of Birmingham
Member since Dec 2008
36582 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:51 pm to
They didn't throw a flag for assisting him though. Nor was it given as a reason for him not being assessed the TD.

Is the penalty loss of down? Would they have received another 4th down play if the penalty had been called and accepted?

This post was edited on 12/30/21 at 9:52 pm
Posted by KellerChrystFan
Member since Sep 2018
9630 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:52 pm to
quote:

Would they have received another 4th down play if the penalty had been called and accepted?

Yes. Would’ve been a TD called back and a 5 yard penalty replay 4th down but they were never going to call that anyway.
Posted by Milf n Cookies
Texas
Member since Nov 2021
730 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:54 pm to
quote:


When your teammate has to start dragging you by your pads, you’re no longer making forward progress. Sorry.

Good call. Good spot. Get over it.


So, by your logic, anytime a teammate pushes or pulls a ball carrier into the end zone, the ball should be marked at the point where the pushing/pulling began? According to the rules the whistle designates the end of a play, not the pulling of a shoulder pad.
Posted by Tuscaloosa
12x Award Winning SECRant user
Member since Dec 2011
49295 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:54 pm to
quote:

I’ve read the rule you posted and nowhere does it say “ball is dead when forward progress is in question”. Or did you only post part of the rule?


It’s a completely different section of the rule book.



Posted by Che Boludo
Member since May 2009
20297 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:54 pm to
quote:

Should have taken the points.

The ELEPHANT in the room for all of the "mUH FoRwArD PrOgReSs" folks

Plus, the camo hat UT wearing douche fricking with the band kid video evaporated any empathy I had for the mustard throwing UTrash fans
Posted by Tuscaloosa
12x Award Winning SECRant user
Member since Dec 2011
49295 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:55 pm to
(no message)
This post was edited on 12/30/21 at 9:55 pm
Posted by KellerChrystFan
Member since Sep 2018
9630 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:55 pm to
quote:

It’s a completely different section of the rule book.


Numnuts, the part you’re failing to understand is forward progress isn’t stopped because someone is pulling the ball carrier. It’s a penalty but the play continues.
Posted by LSUgrad88
Member since Jun 2009
7937 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:55 pm to
The rule only calls for a penalty if he is “assisting the runner”. Assisting means helping, which implies the runner is still making forward progress, which in this case the ref ruled his forward progress was stopped. The pulling therefore was completely irrelevant to the play. It comes down to whether you believe the ref blew it by ruling forward progress was stopped. I think that was incorrect.
Posted by Tuscaloosa
12x Award Winning SECRant user
Member since Dec 2011
49295 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:57 pm to
quote:

According to the rules the whistle designates the end of a play,


Where is that written? According to what I’m reading, the ball becomes dead when the official declares it dead - and he may use his whistle to signal.
Posted by BFANLC
The Beach
Member since Oct 2007
20950 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:57 pm to
Op muddying the water by continuing to reference a foul that wasn't called.
Posted by Tuscaloosa
12x Award Winning SECRant user
Member since Dec 2011
49295 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:58 pm to
quote:

Numnuts, the part you’re failing to understand is forward progress isn’t stopped because someone is pulling the ball carrier. It’s a penalty but the play continues.


Okay. I’ll have this thread deleted and just post the part that says “when in question, the ball is dead.”

You play make believe all you want.
Posted by NATidefan
Two hours North of Birmingham
Member since Dec 2008
36582 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 9:58 pm to
Exactly.. the question was whether or not his forward progress stopped. I don't think so.

So they blew the call.


Arguing that there would have been a penalty for assisting the runner and that's what makes it the right call is mute.

If that was their take, they should have thrown the flag.
Posted by Milf n Cookies
Texas
Member since Nov 2021
730 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 10:00 pm to
quote:

According to what I’m reading, the ball becomes dead when the official declares it dead - and he may use his whistle to signal.


No one is denying that the official ran in and marked the play dead. We all saw that. The point is, the official fricked up. It was a TD.
Posted by KellerChrystFan
Member since Sep 2018
9630 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 10:01 pm to
quote:

Okay. I’ll have this thread deleted and just post the part that says “when in question, the ball is dead.” You play make believe all you want.


Let's try this again.

The whole controversy is whether the forward progress was stopped.

That has zero to do with the penalty. The penalty does not automatically end any forward progress. Forward progress is either there or it isn’t. The play isn’t dead immediately if the penalty is called. If the penalty was called that means TN scored a TD and then it would’ve been called back and they would’ve elected to take the FG. This isn’t hard.
This post was edited on 12/30/21 at 10:21 pm
Posted by KellerChrystFan
Member since Sep 2018
9630 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 10:02 pm to
quote:

Arguing that there would have been a penalty for assisting the runner and that's what makes it the right call is mute. If that was their take, they should have thrown the flag.


Yep and if they threw the flag they would’ve also have ruled it a TD since the play would’ve continued due to forward progress. He’s arguing nonsense.
Posted by Milf n Cookies
Texas
Member since Nov 2021
730 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 10:06 pm to
quote:

Okay. I’ll have this thread deleted and just post the part that says “when in question, the ball is dead.”

You play make believe all you want.


You sound like an Auburn fan last year after the Arkansas game.
Posted by Tuscaloosa
12x Award Winning SECRant user
Member since Dec 2011
49295 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 10:08 pm to
quote:

The point is, the official fricked up. It was a TD.




Posted by LSUgrad88
Member since Jun 2009
7937 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 10:09 pm to
quote:

Exactly.. the question was whether or not his forward progress stopped. I don't think so. So they blew the call. Arguing that there would have been a penalty for assisting the runner and that's what makes it the right call is mute. If that was their take, they should have thrown the flag.


Exactly correct.
Posted by Tuscaloosa
12x Award Winning SECRant user
Member since Dec 2011
49295 posts
Posted on 12/30/21 at 10:11 pm to
quote:

That has zero to do with the penalty. The penalty does not automatically end any forward progress. Forward progress is either there or it isn’t. The play isn’t dead immediately if the penalty is called. If the penalty was called that means TN scored a TD and then it would’ve been called back and they would’ve elected to take the FG. This isn’t hard.


After reviewing and reassessing, I actually believe you’re correct.

The line judge believed his forward progress was stopped at the one yard line, and he appears correct. The UT player was not flagged because the official correctly determined that forward progress had stopped prior to that point.
Jump to page
Page First 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 5 of 10Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow SECRant for SEC Football News
Follow us on X and Facebook to get the latest updates on SEC Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitter