Started By
Message

re: Targeting?

Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:47 pm to
Posted by MikkUGA
Destin
Member since Jun 2014
2127 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:47 pm to
Because he didn't lower his helmet and hit him with the top. If every helmet to helmet contact got called you literally couldn't play the game.
Posted by Jdgood1
Member since Dec 2022
249 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:47 pm to
F M L

Posted by djsdawg
Member since Apr 2015
39367 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:47 pm to
quote:

UGA got called for targeting against TX on that exact same hit.


Yep.

I think this one was far more obvious than ours in that game.
Posted by djsdawg
Member since Apr 2015
39367 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:48 pm to
quote:

Because he didn't lower his helmet and hit him with the top.


Ok, but that is irrelevant to the rule. If a rule exists, it needs to be properly applied.
Posted by MikkUGA
Destin
Member since Jun 2014
2127 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:48 pm to
No, neither of them were targeting and neither should be called.
Posted by ThighMeat
Member since Aug 2024
146 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:49 pm to
Ball don’t lie
Posted by HunterDawg
Member since Oct 2024
586 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:50 pm to
Targeting. Can't believe they didn't confirm it. Hope it doesn't matter.
Posted by djsdawg
Member since Apr 2015
39367 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:51 pm to
quote:

If every helmet to helmet contact got called you literally couldn't play the game.


Ok. What part of “defenseless” do you not understand?
Posted by JCdawg
Member since Sep 2014
9149 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:51 pm to
quote:

Because he didn't lower his helmet and hit him with the top. If every helmet to helmet contact got called you literally couldn't play the game.


I understand that, but lesser hits without lowering have been called.
Posted by cardswinagain
Member since Jun 2013
13160 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:52 pm to
If the roles were reversed, they would have 100% called targeting on ASU
Posted by djsdawg
Member since Apr 2015
39367 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:52 pm to
quote:

neither of them were targeting


Are you saying targeting doesn’t exist as a rule? Or do you just not understand the rule?
Posted by MikkUGA
Destin
Member since Jun 2014
2127 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:53 pm to
Yes and they shouldnt have. The rule says contact with helmet to helmet but it also says, lowering of the helmet or launching into. He did neither.
This post was edited on 1/1/25 at 3:58 pm
Posted by Veritas
Member since Feb 2005
9912 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:54 pm to
If that was an lsu player, he’d be in jail for that hit.
Posted by djsdawg
Member since Apr 2015
39367 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:56 pm to
quote:

The rule says contact with helmet to helmet but it also says, lowering of the helmet or launching into. He did neither.


You are wrong about both:

The helmets hit.
Lowering and launching are not required.
Posted by MikkUGA
Destin
Member since Jun 2014
2127 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:56 pm to
I'm saying incidental helmet to helmet contact is not targeting. He didn't launch into the guy and he didn't lower his helmet. Like I said if you called every helmet to helmet contact targeting, you wouldn't be able to play.
Posted by djsdawg
Member since Apr 2015
39367 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 3:58 pm to
quote:

Like I said if you called every helmet to helmet contact targeting, you wouldn't be able to play.


Wrong again.

It only applies on this play because the wr was defenseless.
Posted by MikkUGA
Destin
Member since Jun 2014
2127 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 4:00 pm to
It literally says in the rule, lowering the helmet to hit and launching into the head area. It's fricking dumb to think every helmet to helmet contact should be targeting. The shite is already called too much.
Posted by djsdawg
Member since Apr 2015
39367 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 4:01 pm to
Here is the rule:

*Targeting Rule 9-1-3: No player shall target and make forcible contact against an opponent with the crown of their helmet.

*Targeting Rule 9-1-4: No player shall target and make forcible contact to the head or neck area of a defenseless opponent with the helmet, forearm, hand, fist, elbow or shoulder.
Posted by MikkUGA
Destin
Member since Jun 2014
2127 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 4:04 pm to
If I was so fricking wrong then why did the entire group of officials look at the replay and say it was not targeting? Because you think every helmet to helmet contact should be called. It shouldn't have been called on the Georgia hit and it shouldn't have been called here.
Posted by MikkUGA
Destin
Member since Jun 2014
2127 posts
Posted on 1/1/25 at 4:08 pm to
What part of lowering and forcible contact did you miss in those two rules?
first pageprev pagePage 3 of 4Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow SECRant for SEC Football News
Follow us on X and Facebook to get the latest updates on SEC Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitter