Started By
Message
re: Forward progress wasn't stopped IMO.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:13 pm to NATidefan
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:13 pm to NATidefan
Seriously we are doing this again...like tuscaloosa said in the other thread...it should have been a penalty on tennessee for that illegal pulling of the ball carrier if anything...the right call was made and forward progress was stopped...
Dont blame the refs cause if they just kick it there they have a chance still...no points means no chance
Dont blame the refs cause if they just kick it there they have a chance still...no points means no chance
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:13 pm to NATidefan
A FG could have continued the game IMO
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:15 pm to NATidefan
quote:
Alot, if the penalty results in them getting a repeat of the down.
You just decline it.
If the foul is called, the ball would still be placed at the spot of the foul, not in the end zone. Because forward progress from that point forward would not count.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:17 pm to 3down10
quote:
It's the entire reason the rule exists, but you think it means nothing?
If a wr pushes off, and then catches the ball a runs for a TD do they whistle it dead when he pushes off?
Or do they call it a td and throw a flag?
What about on a kick return with a block in the back?
Holding when the runner continues for a td?
If you want to argue he was assisted, then the play should have been ruled a td with a flag thrown.
This post was edited on 12/30/21 at 11:18 pm
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:18 pm to 3down10
quote:
If the foul is called, the ball would still be placed at the spot of the foul, not in the end zone. Because forward progress from that point forward would not count.
But is it a loss of down?????????
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:20 pm to NATidefan
quote:
If a wr pushes off, and then catches the ball a runs for a TD do they whistle it dead when he pushes off?
Or do they call it a td and throw a flag?
What about on a kick return with a block in the back?
Holding when the runner continues for a td?
If you want to argue he was assisted, then the play should have been ruled a td with a flag thrown.
That you think these things are even remotely similiar is my queue to stop wasting my time.
They got the call right, if you can't understand why it's your problem.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:22 pm to 3down10
The fact that we’re arguing about the forward progress satisfies the last sentence here.


Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:23 pm to NATidefan
quote:
But is it a loss of down?????????
Yes, that is why you decline it.
The extra progress is not valid no matter if the penalty is accepted or not. The only thing that is declined is the 5 yards in exchange for a loss of downs.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:27 pm to NATidefan
quote:
Obviously if his being pulled got him in the endzone then he was still progressing forward and a flag should have been thrown for it.
This should have been the call. Same result but the play isn’t over until he’s down or the whistle blows, and he clearly broke the plane before either one occurred.
It still makes zero sense why you can push but not pull

Still fault UT for the play calling though - dropping back on 1st from the 2? Get your arse under center and run it 4 times. You only have to get 2ft/play.
This post was edited on 12/30/21 at 11:32 pm
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:32 pm to ForeverEllisHugh
quote:
It still makes zero sense why you can push but not pull
The only way you can pull is if forward progress has been stopped already.
Nobody runs up in front of someone who is moving forward, you would just get in their way.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:33 pm to 3down10
quote:
Yes, that is why you decline it

Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:34 pm to 3down10
That makes some sense.
Regardless I’m taking my chances with some combination of QB sneak/FB dive/lead dive 4 times.
Regardless I’m taking my chances with some combination of QB sneak/FB dive/lead dive 4 times.
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:39 pm to olemc999
quote:
That was a TD period.
Agreed
Posted on 12/30/21 at 11:42 pm to 3down10
quote:
That you think these things are even remotely similiar is my queue to stop wasting my time.
The fact you think they aren't is mine.
Unless you can show me where that penalty means the play is blown dead like a false start.
Either way....YOU HAVE TO THROW THE FLAG
This post was edited on 12/30/21 at 11:44 pm
Back to top
