Opinion wanted on expansion | SECRant.com
Posted byMessage
ColoradoAg
Texas A&M Fan
Colorado Springs
Member since Sep 2011
847 posts

Opinion wanted on expansion


There is an ongoing discussion on the Texas sites that they need to join the SEC, because they see what is happening with A&M. I'd like the SEC school opinions here - NO A&M FANS. Our opinion is obvious.

My opinion is that A&M already served up Texas, and the sips bring more trouble than they are worth (A&M fan opinion). I think NC and VA are the eventual targets.







Back to top
Share:
KCM0Tiger
Missouri Fan
Kansas City, Missouri
Member since Nov 2011
5761 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


No. NO. Texass has ruined every conference they've been a part of. No.

I would've been perfectly happy in the Big 8 forever. Mizzou, nubraska, kansass, colorado, oklahoma, etc. It was all fine until the 4 texas schools came along and ruined it for the original founders (no offense aggie...mostly UT's fault).



This post was edited on 2/7 at 7:35 pm


Back to top
dawg4lyfe
Georgia Fan
Member since May 2012
8059 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


We don't need Texas. They can take their TV deal and shove it right up their ass. Their fans would be the most annoying people on the planet.





Back to top
Draconian Sanctions
LSU Fan
2011 SECr Hall of Flame Inductee
Member since Oct 2008
41319 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


I wouldn't say they are more trouble than they are worth, but there is no reason to add another Texas team, just like there is no reason to add another Florida team or another South Carolina team. Expansion is about expanding your footprint so you can make more money on your schools network. Texas doesn't help in that regard.

That said Texas is one of the few big fish out there that could be gotten, so I think you have to at least look at it from a national perspective. Living in Austin I don't think they are a fit in the SEC the way way A&M is at all.

I don't buy the whole "they will ruin the SEC" talk as this would be a whole different animal and Texas simply would not be in the position to behave in the SEC the way they have in the past.



This post was edited on 2/7 at 7:38 pm


Back to top
I Ham That I Ham
Wisconsin Fan
Oh Lord, it's hard to be humble
Member since Jan 2012
8050 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


/''\





Back to top
  Replies (0)
USMC Gators
Member since Oct 2011
14633 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


Add them, along with FSU. The conference would then have both flagship state universities of the two best football states in the country.
Gotta do something about moving Mizzou to the West though.






Back to top
RocketBallz
Missouri Fan
Member since Oct 2012
549 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


Not until they get rid of their current AD, and change their fart sniffing attitude. So in other words, never and no thanks.





Back to top
InVolNerable
Tennessee Fan
Member since Jan 2012
9151 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


quote:

Gotta do something about moving Mizzou to the West though


You think they'd join the Pac12? I hope so.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Bho
USA Fan
Lexington
Member since Dec 2007
23292 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


No reason if it doesn't bring a new tv market.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
General13
USA Fan
Mobile
Member since Dec 2008
907 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


Hell no. Those whiny pansies already destroyed one league. They can whither and die on their own vine.





Back to top
CockInYourEar
South Carolina Fan
Charlotte
Member since Sep 2012
11680 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


They don't bring any new tv market share. So no. We would be better fit picking up Oklahoma, a NC or VA school.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
FamousAmos
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2010
2541 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


So we wouldn't want the #1 most valuable team in College Football in the SEC?





Back to top
I Ham That I Ham
Wisconsin Fan
Oh Lord, it's hard to be humble
Member since Jan 2012
8050 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


quote:

Those whiny pansies already destroyed one league


more than that actually






Back to top
attheua
Alabama Fan
Tuscaloosa
Member since Apr 2008
5442 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


No thanks. They made that shitty conference into what it is and they can stay there.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
genro
Penn Fan
Tuscaloosa (not Austin)
Member since Nov 2011
30525 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


quote:

So we wouldn't want the #1 most valuable team in College Football in the SEC?

Not if they're gonna demand inequitable sharing rights for tv, money, etc






Back to top
Cockopotamus
South Carolina Fan
Member since Jan 2013
7880 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


Don't want them. UNC-Duke or VT-NCST so Mizzou can move to the west.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
General13
USA Fan
Mobile
Member since Dec 2008
907 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


Well there you go.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
wmr
Yale Fan
North of Dickson, South of Herman's
Member since Mar 2009
20194 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


No brainer, yes. They are the richest program in the country. Any conference would be dumb to turn them down.





Back to top
USMC Gators
Member since Oct 2011
14633 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


Send Mizzou to the B1G where they wanted anyhow. Add Clemson/FSU to the East and Texas to the West.





Back to top
AUCE05
USA Fan
Member since Dec 2009
11367 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


The reality is if UTx wants in, they're in. No opinions are needed.





Back to top


Back to top