Posted byMessage
ColoradoAg
Texas A&M Fan
Colorado Springs
Member since Sep 2011
772 posts

Opinion wanted on expansion


There is an ongoing discussion on the Texas sites that they need to join the SEC, because they see what is happening with A&M. I'd like the SEC school opinions here - NO A&M FANS. Our opinion is obvious.

My opinion is that A&M already served up Texas, and the sips bring more trouble than they are worth (A&M fan opinion). I think NC and VA are the eventual targets.







Back to top
Share:
KCM0Tiger
Missouri Fan
Kansas City, Missouri
Member since Nov 2011
5418 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


No. NO. Texass has ruined every conference they've been a part of. No.

I would've been perfectly happy in the Big 8 forever. Mizzou, nubraska, kansass, colorado, oklahoma, etc. It was all fine until the 4 texas schools came along and ruined it for the original founders (no offense aggie...mostly UT's fault).



This post was edited on 2/7 at 7:35 pm


Back to top
dawg4lyfe
Georgia Fan
Member since May 2012
7523 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


We don't need Texas. They can take their TV deal and shove it right up their ass. Their fans would be the most annoying people on the planet.





Back to top
Draconian Sanctions
LSU Fan
Austin, TX
Member since Oct 2008
38404 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


I wouldn't say they are more trouble than they are worth, but there is no reason to add another Texas team, just like there is no reason to add another Florida team or another South Carolina team. Expansion is about expanding your footprint so you can make more money on your schools network. Texas doesn't help in that regard.

That said Texas is one of the few big fish out there that could be gotten, so I think you have to at least look at it from a national perspective. Living in Austin I don't think they are a fit in the SEC the way way A&M is at all.

I don't buy the whole "they will ruin the SEC" talk as this would be a whole different animal and Texas simply would not be in the position to behave in the SEC the way they have in the past.



This post was edited on 2/7 at 7:38 pm


Back to top
I Ham That I Ham
Arkansas Fan
Oh Lord, it's hard to be humble
Member since Jan 2012
7457 posts
 Online 

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


/''\





Back to top
USMC Gators
Member since Oct 2011
14633 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


Add them, along with FSU. The conference would then have both flagship state universities of the two best football states in the country.
Gotta do something about moving Mizzou to the West though.






Back to top
RocketBallz
Missouri Fan
Member since Oct 2012
436 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


Not until they get rid of their current AD, and change their fart sniffing attitude. So in other words, never and no thanks.





Back to top
InVolNerable
Tennessee Fan
Member since Jan 2012
8444 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


quote:

Gotta do something about moving Mizzou to the West though


You think they'd join the Pac12? I hope so.






Back to top
Bho
Kentucky Fan
In DB10_AFC's Head
Member since Dec 2007
22235 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


No reason if it doesn't bring a new tv market.





Back to top
General13
USA Fan
Mobile
Member since Dec 2008
897 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


Hell no. Those whiny pansies already destroyed one league. They can whither and die on their own vine.





Back to top
CockInYourEar
South Carolina Fan
Charlotte
Member since Sep 2012
10068 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


They don't bring any new tv market share. So no. We would be better fit picking up Oklahoma, a NC or VA school.





Back to top
FamousAmos
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2010
2530 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


So we wouldn't want the #1 most valuable team in College Football in the SEC?





Back to top
I Ham That I Ham
Arkansas Fan
Oh Lord, it's hard to be humble
Member since Jan 2012
7457 posts
 Online 

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


quote:

Those whiny pansies already destroyed one league


more than that actually






Back to top
attheua
Alabama Fan
Tuscaloosa
Member since Apr 2008
5441 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


No thanks. They made that shitty conference into what it is and they can stay there.





Back to top
genro
Penn Fan
Baconalia
Member since Nov 2011
27629 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


quote:

So we wouldn't want the #1 most valuable team in College Football in the SEC?

Not if they're gonna demand inequitable sharing rights for tv, money, etc






Back to top
Cockopotamus
South Carolina Fan
Member since Jan 2013
5717 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


Don't want them. UNC-Duke or VT-NCST so Mizzou can move to the west.





Back to top
General13
USA Fan
Mobile
Member since Dec 2008
897 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


Well there you go.





Back to top
wmr
Yale Fan
North of Dickson, South of Herman's
Member since Mar 2009
19034 posts
 Online 

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


No brainer, yes. They are the richest program in the country. Any conference would be dumb to turn them down.





Back to top
USMC Gators
Member since Oct 2011
14633 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


Send Mizzou to the B1G where they wanted anyhow. Add Clemson/FSU to the East and Texas to the West.





Back to top
AUCE05
USA Fan
Member since Dec 2009
10189 posts
 Online 

re: Opinion wanted on expansion


The reality is if UTx wants in, they're in. No opinions are needed.





Back to top



Back to top