Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ??? | SECRant.com
Posted byMessage
Luke
Auburn Fan
1113 Chartres Street, NOLA
Member since Nov 2004
5052 posts
 Online 

Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???



Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ??? Why build such a great facility if you are not going to invest in a coach that can build the program??? Wouldn't it be better to just leave them in the BEMA if youre going to half arse the process? I honestly believe that AU can do so much better as proven by Coach Ellis in the past. If youre going to invest in facilities please invest in a coach that will draw top talent. We will attend and support 100% if you put a product on the court worth watching... Rant off






Back to top
Share:
genro
Penn Fan
Tuscaloosa (not Austin)
Member since Nov 2011
30619 posts

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


Every fantasy league has their Taco





Back to top
RockyMtnTigerWDE
Auburn Fan
Posibarner CoCaptain 4eva
Member since Oct 2010
41930 posts

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


So they have a place to bring football recruits to in the winter.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Pettifogger
Member since Feb 2012
9052 posts

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


FWIW Auburn is playing hard this year, they've given a good fight in each SEC game, just can't close.





Back to top
NorthGwinnettTiger
Auburn Fan
Member since Jun 2006
34905 posts

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


Flood the arena and give it to the swimming/diving team.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
Luke
Auburn Fan
1113 Chartres Street, NOLA
Member since Nov 2004
5052 posts
 Online 

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


unfortunately we've witnessed this close but no close for wayyy to long.. heck Im beginning to think Lebo may in fact be better than Barbee...





Back to top
  Replies (0)
parkjas2001
Auburn Fan
Gustav Fan Club: Consigliere
Member since Feb 2010
44905 posts

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


quote:

Why build such a great facility if you are not going to invest in a coach that can build the program???


Been asking that for two years now.






Back to top
  Replies (0)
The Nino
USA Fan
Member since Jan 2010
14955 posts

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


quote:

Every fantasy league has their Taco
Taco at least has potential though






Back to top
  Replies (0)
Eric Nies Grind Time
Texas A&M Fan
Atlanta, GA
Member since Sep 2012
11733 posts

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???








Back to top
  Replies (0)
GenesChin
Ole Miss Fan
The Promise Land
Member since Feb 2012
11205 posts

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


You are an idiot. Barber was supposed to be a home run hire who could draw talent. He did his first year they all just didn't qualify





Back to top
RTR America
Alabama Fan
Memphis, TN
Member since Aug 2012
22220 posts
 Online 

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


quote:

Barber was supposed to be a home run hire who could draw talent.


Cal begged Memphis to give him the job when he went to Kentucky

Barbee and Anthony Grant both felt like home run hires and neither have panned out at all



This post was edited on 1/22 at 9:27 am


Back to top
  Replies (0)
Luke
Auburn Fan
1113 Chartres Street, NOLA
Member since Nov 2004
5052 posts
 Online 

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


"supposed to be" .... isn't proven... toss out the $$$ and promise whoever the replacement is 100% decision making in the process and to h$ll with avoiding AAU recruiting; the NCAA screwed us over that with Kamara





Back to top
AHM21
Alabama Fan
Too close to Auburn
Member since Feb 2008
3752 posts

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


I do not know, but stay away from Bruce Pearl.





Back to top
Luke
Auburn Fan
1113 Chartres Street, NOLA
Member since Nov 2004
5052 posts
 Online 

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


UA bball and AU are way to similar with UA being slightly better considering the NIT appearences





Back to top
AHM21
Alabama Fan
Too close to Auburn
Member since Feb 2008
3752 posts

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


Alabama should be better than Auburn based on the players. Instead, we have high expectations and low output.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
wmr
Yale Fan
North of Dickson, South of Herman's
Member since Mar 2009
20252 posts

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


Road wins for Mike Anderson.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
piggidyphish
Auburn Fan
Birmingham
Member since Jul 2009
14658 posts

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


something to take recruits to.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
piggidyphish
Auburn Fan
Birmingham
Member since Jul 2009
14658 posts

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


quote:

Auburn is playing hard this year, they've given a good fight in each SEC game, just can't close


we've played teams close for multiple years under barbee...but never win those games.

Lost to illinois by 2 last year double ot to arky, 2 point loss to ole miss

And hell, we actually beat a few people the year before that. You know what all that has in common?

Sub .500 records.

I know you're not advocating that close is good, but i'm tired of close, at this point i'll take the devil i don't know over the one i do.






Back to top
Aubie Spr96
Auburn Fan
lolwut?
Member since Dec 2009
14373 posts

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


If you can't be a shining example, be a glaring warning.





Back to top
  Replies (0)
TiggerWoods
Auburn Fan
Auburn
Member since Nov 2010
2511 posts

re: Just my opinion but what is the purpose of AU basketball ???


quote:

GenesChin


Once we fire Barbee we will realize, just like after we fired Lebo, that the coach is not the problem. Auburn basketball = Vandy football.






Back to top


Back to top