Posted by
Message
BossBailey345
Member since Nov 2019
815 posts

Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
Mark may and Lou holtz are a tie for me....JUST BAD


SummerOfGeorge
Alabama Fan
DeKalb
Member since Jul 2013
65104 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
I'd watch the mid 2000s-era College Football Final with Holtz/May/Rece over 90% of college football stuff on TV in 2020.

This post was edited on 4/7 at 10:32 am


texag7
USA Fan
College Station
Member since Apr 2014
29431 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
Booger


SidewalkTiger
LSU Fan
In your head
Member since Dec 2019
7889 posts
 Online 

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
Gary Danielson.

He has good things to say sometimes but he likes to hear himself talk too much and his voice is annoying.

Gus Johnson/Joel Klatt and their "JK All Day" bullshitee. Hearing Klatt suck the Big 10 off all year was annoying as hell.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
230
theGarnetWay
South Carolina Fan
Washington, D.C.
Member since Mar 2010
21212 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
quote:

I'd watch the mid 2000s-era College Football Final with Holtz/May/Rece over 90% of college football stuff on TV in 2020.



This. I loved college football final with those 3.

I loved Holtz’s complete and total bias for Notre Dame and even us. It agitated May so much I think he was biased against us and ND because of how unrelenting Holtz was.
This post was edited on 4/7 at 2:34 pm


SummerOfGeorge
Alabama Fan
DeKalb
Member since Jul 2013
65104 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
quote:

This. I loved college football final with those 3.

I loved Holtz’s complete and total bias for Notre Dame and even us. It agitated May so much I think it was biased against us and ND because of how unrelenting Holtz was.


It was entertaining


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
60
MrAUTigers
Auburn Fan
Florida
Member since Sep 2013
22250 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
I was not a fan of Cosell.

Todd Christensen is in that boat.

Everybody blows Danielson...I don't get it. "He does his homework". big deal. he is a terrible listen, IMO.

I judge people against Keith Jackson. I have not come across a football guy who can carry his jock.


rockiee
Houston Astros Fan
Sugar Land, TX
Member since Jan 2015
22783 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
quote:


Everybody blows Danielson...I don't get it


I think there are way more that hate him than "blow him"


jlovel7
LSU Fan
Louisiana
Member since Aug 2014
11028 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
quote:

Mark may and Lou holtz are a tie for me....JUST BAD


If I could choose any era of college football to just freeze in time and have forever it'd be the BCS era. That means a nationalized college football but without the ridiculous conference hopping that started happening right at the end of it, having Reece, Mark May, and Holtz in the studio. 2 hours of college gameday every saturday so that forces them to keep everything trimmed and moving, it's way too bloated now. People still packing major stadiums and even less interesting games because not every game is on tv. More parity across more conferences with powers consistently in each one. The BCS era by and large was college football at its best before the real money really got to it.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
60
Glorious
Central Florida Fan
Mobile
Member since Aug 2014
13106 posts
 Online 

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
Beth Mowins would make even USC Texas 2005 significantly less enjoyable. So I choose him
This post was edited on 4/7 at 10:42 am


SR SponsorSR Fan
USA
Member since 2001
Thank you for supporting our sponsors
Advertisement
thunderbird1100
LSU Fan
GSU Eagles fan
Member since Oct 2007
59848 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
Gary and Verne on CBS were always a horrific duo.


Tri City Tigers
Memphis Fan
Member since Oct 2018
2306 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
Nick Wright


rockiee
Houston Astros Fan
Sugar Land, TX
Member since Jan 2015
22783 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
quote:


Gary and Verne on CBS were always a horrific duo.


Verne was just terrible all around. Most hate Gary because of his "bias" but Verne was truly just awful most of the time, especially at the end. He would call people the wrong names or call a catch and run for 60 yards an incomplete pass after it was fumbled. Stuff you would expect to hear from your friend who never watches football.


gladchiefisgone
Navy Fan
Member since Sep 2010
1286 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
Danielson and Mowins.


Rex Feral
Georgia Fan
Member since Jan 2014
2925 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
Beth Mowins


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
24
joshua2571
Duke Fan
Member since Nov 2015
6907 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
Booger MacFarland is bad


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
33
Broncothor
Georgia Fan
Member since Jul 2014
2857 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
Mowins first, then Danielson.

Danielson shows obvious bias and also wants to tell you how he would coach the team and what he would do way too often. But at least he does add some occasional value and insight.

Mowins, however, adds no value at all and has the worst broadcasting voice I have ever heard.


Cobb Dawg
Georgia Fan
Member since Sep 2012
9804 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
Gary Danielson, hands down. Guy’s voice is like fingernails on a chalk board and he loves to hear himself talk.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
rockiee
Houston Astros Fan
Sugar Land, TX
Member since Jan 2015
22783 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
quote:



I think there are way more that hate him than "blow him"


Right on cue


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Teague
Alabama Fan
Huntsville, AL
Member since Aug 2007
18355 posts

re: Past or present...who was the worst sports analyst in your opinion?
If we're including color guys, Dick Vitale will forever be the worst for me.

Andre Ware is also pretty terrible.


Page 1 2 3
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 3next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow SECRant for SEC Football News
Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get the latest updates on SEC Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitter