Opinion wanted on expansion | SECRant.com
menu
Posted by
Message
ColoradoAg
Texas A&M Fan
Colorado Springs
Member since Sep 2011
852 posts

Opinion wanted on expansion
There is an ongoing discussion on the Texas sites that they need to join the SEC, because they see what is happening with A&M. I'd like the SEC school opinions here - NO A&M FANS. Our opinion is obvious.

My opinion is that A&M already served up Texas, and the sips bring more trouble than they are worth (A&M fan opinion). I think NC and VA are the eventual targets.


KCM0Tiger
Missouri Fan
Kansas City, Missouri
Member since Nov 2011
9758 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
No. NO. Texass has ruined every conference they've been a part of. No.

I would've been perfectly happy in the Big 8 forever. Mizzou, nubraska, kansass, colorado, oklahoma, etc. It was all fine until the 4 texas schools came along and ruined it for the original founders (no offense aggie...mostly UT's fault).
This post was edited on 2/7 at 7:35 pm


dawg4lyfe
Atlanta Falcons Fan
Member since May 2012
8904 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
We don't need Texas. They can take their TV deal and shove it right up their ass. Their fans would be the most annoying people on the planet.


Draconian Sanctions
Western Michigan Fan
#ReauxTheBeauxt
Member since Oct 2008
52435 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
I wouldn't say they are more trouble than they are worth, but there is no reason to add another Texas team, just like there is no reason to add another Florida team or another South Carolina team. Expansion is about expanding your footprint so you can make more money on your schools network. Texas doesn't help in that regard.

That said Texas is one of the few big fish out there that could be gotten, so I think you have to at least look at it from a national perspective. Living in Austin I don't think they are a fit in the SEC the way way A&M is at all.

I don't buy the whole "they will ruin the SEC" talk as this would be a whole different animal and Texas simply would not be in the position to behave in the SEC the way they have in the past.
This post was edited on 2/7 at 7:38 pm


I Ham That I Ham
Arkansas Fan
Oh Lord, it's hard to be humble
Member since Jan 2012
10773 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
/''\


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
USMC Gators
Member since Oct 2011
14633 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
Add them, along with FSU. The conference would then have both flagship state universities of the two best football states in the country.
Gotta do something about moving Mizzou to the West though.


RocketBallz
Missouri Fan
Member since Oct 2012
945 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
Not until they get rid of their current AD, and change their fart sniffing attitude. So in other words, never and no thanks.


InVolNerable
Tennessee Fan
Member since Jan 2012
9924 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
quote:

Gotta do something about moving Mizzou to the West though


You think they'd join the Pac12? I hope so.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Bho
Kentucky Fan
Lexington
Member since Dec 2007
23833 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
No reason if it doesn't bring a new tv market.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
General13
USA Fan
Mobile
Member since Dec 2008
1204 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
Hell no. Those whiny pansies already destroyed one league. They can whither and die on their own vine.


CockInYourEar
Carolina Panthers Fan
Charlotte
Member since Sep 2012
22070 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
They don't bring any new tv market share. So no. We would be better fit picking up Oklahoma, a NC or VA school.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
FamousAmos
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2010
2841 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
So we wouldn't want the #1 most valuable team in College Football in the SEC?


I Ham That I Ham
Arkansas Fan
Oh Lord, it's hard to be humble
Member since Jan 2012
10773 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
quote:

Those whiny pansies already destroyed one league


more than that actually


attheua
Alabama Fan
Tuscaloosa
Member since Apr 2008
5442 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
No thanks. They made that shitty conference into what it is and they can stay there.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
genro
Alabama Fan
tProcess
Member since Nov 2011
51298 posts
 Online 

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
quote:

So we wouldn't want the #1 most valuable team in College Football in the SEC?

Not if they're gonna demand inequitable sharing rights for tv, money, etc


Cockopotamus
South Carolina Fan
Member since Jan 2013
14556 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
Don't want them. UNC-Duke or VT-NCST so Mizzou can move to the west.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
General13
USA Fan
Mobile
Member since Dec 2008
1204 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
Well there you go.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
wmr
Arkansas Fan
North of Dickson, South of Herman's
Member since Mar 2009
26028 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
No brainer, yes. They are the richest program in the country. Any conference would be dumb to turn them down.


USMC Gators
Member since Oct 2011
14633 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
Send Mizzou to the B1G where they wanted anyhow. Add Clemson/FSU to the East and Texas to the West.


AUCE05
Atlanta Braves Fan
Member since Dec 2009
17724 posts

re: Opinion wanted on expansion
The reality is if UTx wants in, they're in. No opinions are needed.


Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 7next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow SECRant for SEC Football News
Follow us on Twitter and Facebook to get the latest updates on SEC Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitter