Posted byMessage
darkhorse
Member since Aug 2012
4819 posts

Just one complaint


I like Ray. I think he's coaching his butt off! However, I believe he made a horrible mistake that's going to cost MSU..... is costing MSU now.

He cleaned house way to soon. Had he waited, he could have maybe made the NIT in his first year, and recruited the players he wanted. Then he could have cleaned house for his reasons.










Back to top
Share:
Requiem For A Dawg
Arizona State Fan
2013 1st Rd. Draft Pick on BearRant
Member since Dec 2010
10543 posts

re: Just one complaint


You can't wait to start enforcing rules a whole year in.





Back to top
Eric Nies Grind Time
Louisville Fan
Atlanta, GA
Member since Sep 2012
8583 posts

re: Just one complaint


How do you punish Craig Sword for doing something next year that you let Jalen Steele get away with the year before?





Back to top
sharpSee
Pacific Fan
#drip #drip
Member since Oct 2011
5148 posts

re: Just one complaint


Consistency is what earns you respect.





Back to top
Jma313
Mississippi St. Fan
Member since Aug 2010
3218 posts

re: Just one complaint


Whatever the kid did he probably deserved it. Can't cut corners. That's what stansbury did and look where that got him





Back to top
ChargerDog91
Mississippi St. Fan
Member since May 2012
3474 posts

re: Just one complaint


Zeidaks and Smith had the 3rd strike just while Ray was his for a huge school violation. Ray's hand was forced and there was nothing he could do otherwise.

I'm not sure what happened with Jalen tho. I haven't seen any of the players.






Back to top
17theBears
Tulane Fan
#drip #drip
Member since Apr 2012
5426 posts

re: Just one complaint


At this point, he has nothing to lose and everything to gain in enforcing his policies in an effort to gain the respect of the players. If he wouldn't have suspended Jalen, we could've lost by only 20; however, he enforced his policy and suspended Jalen and lost by 25.

If he chooses to suspend 1-2 players the rest of the season, we won't win another game. If he chooses to let 1-2 players slide for conducting themselves in a way that severely detriments the program, we still don't win another game.

IMO, it will pay dividends in the future, and the future is all that matters at this point.

As far as the two kicked off the team, as ChargerDog pointed out, that wasn't solely his decision.



This post was edited on 2/11 at 12:22 pm


Back to top
darkhorse
Member since Aug 2012
4819 posts

re: Just one complaint


Yes you can.. There was a way that he could have done it. It would have made a bigger impact too.

He could have set the rules and stated at the end of the year, I will evaluate where you stand with this team. This is the line and if you cross it, you will be done.

Recruited his type of players and at the end of the season, cleaned house.

MSU would not be in the position they are in now, and his rules would have been placed into effect.

He made a mistake in what he is did, and it's going to be hard to get MSU out of it. Can he do it? who knows. time will tell. But he made a mistake.






Back to top
darkhorse
Member since Aug 2012
4819 posts

re: Just one complaint


quote:

How do you punish Craig Sword for doing something next year that you let Jalen Steele get away with the year before?


Where did I say that? Where did I say he was wrong for suspending Steele? This isn't about Steele. This is about MSU basketball and the whole we are in.






Back to top
17theBears
Tulane Fan
#drip #drip
Member since Apr 2012
5426 posts

re: Just one complaint


quote:

This is about MSU basketball and the whole we are in.








Back to top
darkhorse
Member since Aug 2012
4819 posts

re: Just one complaint


Play on words. :)





Back to top
Hardy_Har
Mississippi St. Fan
Member since Jan 1982
Member since Nov 2012
6543 posts

re: Just one complaint


Did he just paraphrase or stick his dick in a spelling book?? I can't tell.

Well played, Sir DH



This post was edited on 2/11 at 1:06 pm


Back to top
Tds & Beer
Mississippi St. Fan
TOT DAT MOFAN~DRIP DRIP~Bunty Pls
Member since Sep 2009
22116 posts

re: Just one complaint


quote:

Just one complaint


Complaint denied. Try again next year.






Back to top
ChargerDog91
Mississippi St. Fan
Member since May 2012
3474 posts

re: Just one complaint


So basically do what has fricked us over for the past 5 years?

I'll give it to you DH you certainly believe you're always right.






Back to top
Allyn McKeen
Mississippi St. Fan
Ourstate, MS
Member since Jun 2012
736 posts

re: Just one complaint


Cleaning house was OK. It is the injuries and cleaning house that has us playing with the really short bench.

The players that were disciplined did this to themselves. I know it. You know it. They know it.






Back to top
Al Bundy Bulldog
Mississippi St. Fan
The Grindfather
Member since Dec 2010
31031 posts

re: Just one complaint


What I don't get is how does your team captain and a guy many thought was a good character kid and who is a jr. Team captain get suspended????





Back to top
sharpSee
Pacific Fan
#drip #drip
Member since Oct 2011
5148 posts

re: Just one complaint


quote:

What I don't get is how does your team captain and a guy many thought was a good character kid and who is a jr. Team captain get suspended????


If you would have added one more question mark, Rick Ray would have come on this board and answered. Maybe next time.






Back to top
Tds & Beer
Mississippi St. Fan
TOT DAT MOFAN~DRIP DRIP~Bunty Pls
Member since Sep 2009
22116 posts

re: Just one complaint


quote:

What I don't get is how does your team captain and a guy many thought was a good character kid and who is a jr. Team captain get suspended?


He's a dumb kid, just like you were. Next question.






Back to top
Al Bundy Bulldog
Mississippi St. Fan
The Grindfather
Member since Dec 2010
31031 posts

re: Just one complaint


quote:

He's a dumb kid, just like you were. Next question.


When does his suspension end?






Back to top
ChargerDog91
Mississippi St. Fan
Member since May 2012
3474 posts

re: Just one complaint


Is it not possible he could've just fricked up?

Are you trying to speculate that Ray suspended him just to suspend him?






Back to top



Back to top